Les 30 meilleures attractions de Lviv, Ukraine

299
38 158

Le patrimoine historique de Lviv s'est formé sous l'influence du Commonwealth, des empires autrichien et russe, car à différentes époques, la ville faisait partie de tous ces États. D'un point de vue architectural, Lviv est une véritable ville européenne, d'autant plus que l'héritage de l'ère soviétique a été rapidement éliminé dans les premières années de l'indépendance de l'Ukraine.

Les autorités de la ville travaillent activement sur des projets de restauration, de restauration de bâtiments historiques et de développement d'infrastructures pour attirer le plus de touristes possible. Par conséquent, Lviv devient de plus en plus belle avec chaque ville. Ses églises médiévales, ses palais baroques et ses parcs ravissent les voyageurs. Les riches collections des musées de Lviv se composent d'œuvres d'art inestimables, ainsi que d'objets artisanaux uniques qui racontent l'histoire difficile de l'Ukraine occidentale.

Que voir et où aller à Lviv ?

Les endroits les plus intéressants et les plus beaux pour se promener. Photos et une courte description.

Place Rynok

La place centrale de Lviv, dont l'ensemble architectural a commencé à prendre forme à l'époque de Casimir le Grand sous l'influence des tendances urbanistiques polonaises et allemandes. Voici l'hôtel de ville, les demeures historiques de la noblesse et des riches familles de marchands, des musées et des bâtiments administratifs. Aujourd'hui, la place est un important centre touristique de Lviv. Tous les chemins de randonnée de la ville la traversent.

Place Rynok

Hôtel de ville de Lviv

Le premier hôtel de ville en bois est apparu à Lviv au milieu du XIVe siècle après l'adoption du système de loi de Magdebourg par la ville. Il a brûlé après quelques décennies. Le bâtiment de 1835, réalisé dans le style classique selon le projet de A. Vondrashek, F. Tresher et Yu. Markel, a survécu jusqu'à ce jour. Le bâtiment se compose de quatre étages, d'une cour et d'une tour de l'hôtel de ville, ornée d'un cadran de montre fabriqué près de Vienne.

Hôtel de ville de Lviv

Palais Potocki

Le palais à la manière du classicisme "français", qui appartenait à l'influente famille comtale Potocki. Le complexe a été construit en 1880 selon le plan de l'urbaniste français L. de Verny avec l'aide de l'architecte polonais Y. Cybulsky. Le palais Lvov Pototsky était considéré comme l'un des plus luxueux parmi les autres possessions de cette puissante famille. Des réceptions solennelles et des réunions ont eu lieu sur son territoire.

Palais Potocki

Palais de Kornyakt

Un monument architectural unique de la Renaissance, construit au XVIe siècle pour un riche marchand d'origine grecque K. Kornyakt. Une fois la construction terminée, il est immédiatement apparu que l'architecte P. Barbon possédait le bâtiment le plus élégant de tout Lviv. L'un des endroits les plus pittoresques du palais est la cour italienne, inspirée des « patios » typiques de Florence. Aujourd'hui, il y a un musée sur le territoire du manoir.

Palais de Kornyakt

Maison des scientifiques

Un monument architectural de la fin du XIXe siècle, création des urbanistes autrichiens F. Felner et G. Gelmer. La maison a été construite dans le style de l'architecture palatiale typique de l'Europe centrale. Dans la période 1918 - 1939. un casino travaillait dans le bâtiment, depuis 1948 il est devenu la Maison des Scientifiques. Actuellement, le manoir appartient à l'une des organisations éducatives. Des bals masqués de Lviv ont lieu sur son territoire.

Maison des scientifiques

Opéra de Lviv

Lvov a eu un besoin urgent de sa propre scène d'opéra à la fin du 19ème siècle. A cette époque, la ville faisait partie de l'Autriche-Hongrie et était connue sous le nom de Lemberg. Le théâtre a été construit en 1900 dans un style classique avec des éléments baroques et renaissance. Son architecture est fortement influencée par l'école de la « pseudo-Renaissance viennoise ». Le bâtiment du théâtre orne la partie centrale de la ville, lui donnant une ressemblance avec les capitales européennes classiques.

Opéra de Lviv

Cathédrale Saint-Georges

Cathédrale de l'Église gréco-catholique d'Ukraine - UGCC. Auparavant, une église et un monastère orthodoxes en bois (jusqu'au XIVe siècle) et une basilique de style byzantin (jusqu'à la fin du XVIIIe siècle) se trouvaient à sa place. La cathédrale a été construite dans le style baroque selon le projet de B. Meretin. De 1946 à 1990, il a appartenu à l'Église orthodoxe russe, mais a ensuite été restitué à l'UGCC. Le complexe du temple comprend une cathédrale, les chambres du métropolite, une terrasse, un clocher, un jardin et des salles capitulaires.

Cathédrale Saint-Georges

Église Sainte-Élisabeth

Temple néo-gothique du début du XXe siècle, qui, selon la légende, a été nommé d'après l'impératrice Elisabeth de Bavière, mieux connue des gens sous le nom de Sisi. L'architecte T. Talevsky a travaillé sur le projet. Le maître a incarné dans sa création les caractéristiques des temples nord-allemands et français, et a également ajouté un peu de style roman sévère. Depuis 1991, l'église s'appelle l'église de St. Olga et Elizabeth. Il appartient à l'UGCC.

Église Sainte-Élisabeth

cathédrale latine

La cathédrale catholique, qui est la seule en Ukraine à avoir le statut de "basilique mineure". En 2001, le temple a accueilli le pape Jean-Paul II en tant qu'invité d'honneur. La cathédrale latine a été érigée en 1360-1479 selon le projet de P. Stecher. Des travaux de restauration ont été effectués aux XVIIIe, XIXe siècles et au début du XXe siècle. L'architecture du bâtiment est un mélange de styles baroque, gothique et Renaissance.

Cathédrale latine

Chapelle des Boims

La chapelle a été érigée au début du XVIIe siècle comme crypte familiale de la famille Boim. La construction se distingue par le fait que ses murs sont décorés de groupes sculpturaux représentant des scènes de la Bible. Le fait est que les sujets religieux s'incarnaient principalement dans la peinture. Représenter des scènes bibliques à l'aide de la sculpture est une solution assez atypique pour l'époque.

Chapelle des Boims

Cathédrale arménienne

Temple du XIVe siècle, situé dans la partie historique de Lviv. C'est l'un des plus anciens édifices religieux de la ville. La cathédrale a été construite sur le site d'une église arménienne du XIIe siècle aux frais des marchands Panos et Yakov. Au début du 20ème siècle, le bâtiment a été restauré. En 2000, l'église a été transférée à l'Église apostolique arménienne, même si elle appartenait à l'origine à la branche catholique arménienne. Le fait est qu'au moment du transfert, il n'y avait presque plus d'Arméniens catholiques à Lviv.

Cathédrale arménienne

Monastère dominicain et cathédrale

Le premier monastère dominicain a été fondé à Lviv au 14ème siècle. La cathédrale a été érigée au milieu du XVIIIe siècle selon le projet de J. de Witte avec l'argent de Jozef Potocki. Le bâtiment est l'un des monuments les plus frappants de l'architecture baroque européenne avec toute la solennité et la splendeur inhérentes à ce style. Le complexe du monastère a été restauré à plusieurs reprises, les derniers travaux ont été réalisés dans les années 1950.

Monastère dominicain et cathédrale

Église catholique et monastère des Bernardins

Le monastère est né au 15ème siècle. Au départ, tous les bâtiments du monastère étaient en bois. Au cours des XVIe-XVIIe siècles, ils ont été progressivement remplacés par ceux en pierre. A cette époque, le monastère était entouré de puissants murs de forteresse, l'entrée était bloquée par des portes fiables. L'église Saint-André a été érigée en 1600-1630 selon le projet du moine B. Avelid, des travaux à l'intérieur ont été réalisés au XVIIIe siècle. Le bâtiment a été rénové dans les années 1970.

Église catholique et monastère des Bernardins

Église de Jean-Baptiste

Le temple est situé sur la place du Vieux Marché. Selon une version, il a été construit au XIIIe siècle sous le prince Lev Danilovich. Cependant, certaines données et études historiques indiquent que le bâtiment n'est apparu qu'au 14ème siècle. L'architecture du bâtiment présente des caractéristiques du style néo-roman. De nos jours, sur le territoire de l'église, il y a une branche de la galerie d'art de Lviv - le musée des monuments anciens de Lviv.

Église de Jean-Baptiste

Église des Jésuites

L'église a été érigée au XVIIe siècle selon les plans du maître italien D. Briano. Cependant, le plan de construction original a été proposé par le moine S. Lahmius. L'église est l'un des premiers bâtiments baroques érigés sur le territoire de Lviv. Aux XVIIIe et XIXe siècles, le parlement local - la "diète régionale" - siégeait dans l'église. Depuis 2011, des travaux de restauration ont été effectués dans l'église aux frais de fonds polonais.

Église des Jésuites

Musée de la Pharmacie "Sous l'Aigle Noir"

La plus ancienne pharmacie de la ville, qui fonctionne depuis 1735. Dans le musée de la pharmacie, vous pouvez voir une exposition intéressante composée de machines à comprimés, de plats spéciaux avec des inscriptions en latin, d'anciennes balances, d'herbes séchées et d'autres choses intéressantes. Les objets exposés sont rangés sur les étagères d'armoires en bois massif du XVIIIe siècle, ce qui valorise encore "l'entourage" correspondant. La pharmacie vend à la fois des médicaments modernes et des médicaments de marque créés selon d'anciennes recettes.

Musée de la Pharmacie Sous l

Musée de la bière de Lviv

Le musée occupe les locaux en demi-sous-sol de la brasserie de Lviv. Sa collection est dédiée à l'histoire et aux traditions brassicoles. L'exposition a ouvert ses portes en 2005. Ici sont rassemblés bouteilles et tonneaux, verres à bière et recettes anciennes (environ trois cents pièces au total). Après avoir vu l'exposition, les visiteurs peuvent se rendre dans la salle de dégustation, la boutique de cadeaux et le restaurant souterrain "Robert Doms' Brewhouse".

Musée de la bière de Lviv

Guy Shevchenko

Exposition ethnographique en plein air, où vous pourrez admirer l'architecture traditionnelle du village de l'ouest de l'Ukraine, ainsi que vous familiariser avec la vie quotidienne des habitants. Le musée est situé sur le territoire de l'ethno-parc "Znesenye". "Shevchenko Hay" se compose de plusieurs dizaines de maisons typiques de différentes régions d'Ukraine, d'églises et de dépendances.

Guy Shevchenko

Musée d'Ethnographie et des Métiers d'Art

La collection est apparue à la suite de la fusion du Musée de la Société Scientifique. T. Shevchenko et le City Industrial Museum, fondé au 19ème siècle. L'exposition est hébergée dans le bâtiment historique de la Caisse d'épargne galicienne. Les fonds du musée contiennent une précieuse collection d'expositions ethnographiques, ainsi que des objets d'artisanat créés par des artisans.

Musée d

Galerie d'art de Lviv

L'un des plus grands musées d'art d'Ukraine, fondé au début du XXe siècle. La collection est abritée dans un palais néo-Renaissance conçu par F. Pokutinsky. La galerie expose plusieurs dizaines de milliers de tableaux de maîtres de différents pays. Il y a des œuvres de I. Levitan, I. Repin, I. Aivazovsky, P. Rubens, F. Goya, Titien, J. Robert et d'autres artistes.

Galerie d

Musée national Andrey Sheptytsky

Le musée a été fondé au début du XXe siècle dans le but de préserver et de développer la culture nationale ukrainienne. Le créateur était le métropolite A. Sheptytsky, qui a d'abord entretenu l'exposition à ses propres frais. Plus tard, le musée est passé au financement de l'État. La collection se compose d'icônes, de manuscrits, de gravures sur bois, de sculptures, de gravures, de peintures, de textiles et de céramiques.

Musée national Andrey Sheptytsky

Prison de Lontskogo

Bâtiment néo-Renaissance de l'ancienne gendarmerie austro-hongroise reconverti en musée. Pendant la période soviétique, l'administration du NKVD était située sur son territoire, pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale - le siège de la Gestapo, jusqu'en 1991 - le centre de détention du NKVD (ci-après - le KGB), jusqu'en 2009 - le ministère de l'Intérieur d'Ukraine. Le musée a été ouvert en 2009 à l'initiative de la SBU. Son exposition est dédiée aux victimes des régimes d'occupation qui ont existé à différentes époques sur le territoire de l'Ukraine occidentale.

Prison de Lontskogo

Gare de Lviv

La première gare ferroviaire de la ville a été construite à Lviv en 1861 à l'initiative du gouvernement de l'Empire autrichien. Au début du XXe siècle, la gare ne peut plus faire face au flux de passagers. En 1904, un bâtiment moderne apparaît, qui comprend des salles d'attente pour les première, deuxième et troisième classes, ainsi qu'une salle à manger, un restaurant, un bureau de poste et des buanderies. Au moment de son ouverture, la gare de Lviv était considérée comme l'une des plus modernes d'Europe.

Gare de Lviv

arsenal de la ville

Une structure défensive du 16ème siècle, construite en pierre massive. Le bâtiment est un monument architectural de la Renaissance. En 1704, l'arsenal est détruit par les troupes suédoises puis reconstruit. Jusqu'au XVIIIe siècle, il y avait ici une armurerie, après - une prison, une chambre de torture et une maison de bourreau. Depuis 1981, le musée des armes opère dans l'arsenal, qui présente des milliers d'expositions du monde entier.

Arsenal de la ville

Citadelle

Vestiges de fortifications autrichiennes du XIXe siècle, qui furent utilisées à diverses époques par les troupes russes, polonaises et soviétiques lors de campagnes militaires en Ukraine occidentale. L'une des tours bien conservées abrite le Citadel Inn cinq étoiles, dont l'intérieur est décoré dans le style "impérial" de l'apogée de l'Autriche-Hongrie.

Citadelle

tour à poudre

Au XVIe siècle, la tour faisait partie du système de fortifications défensives de la ville et gardait les accès à Lviv du côté nord. L'édifice est un monument de l'architecture militaire de la Renaissance. Munitions, poudre à canon et provisions y étaient entreposées en cas de siège. L'épaisseur des murs de la tour est d'environ 2,5 mètres, ils sont en pierre brute. Des travaux de restauration ont été menés au milieu du XXe siècle.

Tour à poudre

Parc Stryisky

Le parc a été aménagé sur le territoire de l'ancien cimetière Stryisky à la fin du XIXe siècle selon le plan du jardinier en chef de Lvov A. Rering. Il est situé dans la partie sud de la ville. Au départ, environ 40 000 arbres ont été plantés, des chemins ont été aménagés et des pelouses avec des parterres de fleurs ont été décorées. À l'époque soviétique, le territoire du parc a été considérablement agrandi en raison des friches qui lui sont adjacentes.

Parc Stryisky

L'avenue de la liberté

La rue centrale de la ville mesure 350 mètres de long, le centre de la vie culturelle et commerciale. Sur l'avenue Svoboda, les contours des façades des hôtels particuliers entremêlaient des éléments de baroque, de classicisme et de néo-renaissance. Une contribution significative à la formation de l'aspect architectural de la rue a été apportée par la période autrichienne de l'histoire de Lviv. Aujourd'hui, Freedom Avenue est l'un des endroits "emblématiques" des touristes, ainsi qu'une rue préférée pour se promener des citadins.

L

Parc du Haut Château

Le parc est situé sur les pentes de la colline de Knyazhy (château), presque au centre de Lviv. Il couvre une superficie de 36 hectares. De la plate-forme d'observation de la terrasse supérieure offre un magnifique panorama sur la ville. Le parc du Haut Château a été aménagé au XIXe siècle à l'emplacement de la forteresse du même nom, alors démantelée par les Autrichiens. Au milieu du XXe siècle, une tour de télévision de 200 mètres de haut a été construite sur son territoire.

Parc du Haut Château

Cimetière de Lychakiv

Cimetière du XVIe siècle, transformé en musée-réserve mémorial. Il existe une version selon laquelle, au Moyen Âge, les personnes décédées de la peste étaient enterrées à cet endroit. La nécropole se compose de plusieurs parties - les tombes les plus anciennes, le cimetière des défenseurs de Lviv, le quartier rebelle, les tombes des victimes du NKVD, le panthéon des Polonais éminents et autres. Il y a aussi plusieurs monuments commémoratifs ici, dont un monument en l'honneur de l'unité UNA - la division SS Galicia.

Cimetière de Lychakiv

Top 30 Lviv Attractions, Ukraine

299
38 158

The historical heritage of Lviv was formed under the influence of the Commonwealth, the Austrian and Russian empires, since at different times the city was part of all these states. From an architectural point of view, Lviv is a real European city, especially since the legacy of the Soviet era was rushed to get rid of in the first years of Ukraine's independence.

The city authorities are actively working on restoration projects, restoring historic buildings and developing infrastructure to attract as many tourists as possible. Therefore, Lviv is becoming more and more beautiful with every city. Its medieval churches, Baroque palaces and parks delight travelers. The rich collections of Lviv museums consist of priceless works of art, as well as unique handicrafts that tell about the difficult history of Western Ukraine.

What to see and where to go in Lviv?

The most interesting and beautiful places for walking. Photos and a short description.

Rynok Square

The central square of Lviv, the architectural ensemble of which began to take shape during the period of Casimir the Great under the influence of Polish and German urban planning trends. Here is the city hall, historical mansions of the nobility and wealthy merchant families, museums and administrative buildings. Today the square is an important tourist center of Lviv. All walking routes of the city pass through it.

Rynok Square

Lviv City Hall

The first wooden town hall appeared in Lviv in the middle of the 14th century after the adoption of the Magdeburg law system by the city. It burned down after a few decades. The building of 1835, made in the classical style according to the project of A. Vondrashek, F. Tresher and Yu. Markel, has survived to this day. The building consists of four floors, a courtyard and a town hall tower, decorated with a watch dial made near Vienna.

Lviv City Hall

Potocki Palace

The palace in the manner of "French" classicism, which belonged to the influential Potocki count family. The complex was built in 1880 according to the plan of the French urban planner L. de Verny with the help of the Polish architect Y. Cybulsky. The Lvov Pototsky Palace was considered one of the most luxurious among the other possessions of this powerful family. Solemn receptions and meetings were held on its territory.

Potocki Palace

Palace of Kornyakt

A unique architectural monument of the Renaissance, built in the 16th century for a wealthy merchant of Greek origin K. Kornyakt. After the construction was completed, it immediately became clear that the architect P. Barbon had the most elegant building in all of Lviv. One of the most picturesque places of the palace is the Italian courtyard, modeled on the typical “patios” of Florence. Today, there is a museum on the territory of the mansion.

Palace of Kornyakt

House of Scientists

An architectural monument of the late 19th century, the creation of the Austrian city planners F. Felner and G. Gelmer. The house was built in the style of palace architecture typical for Central Europe. In the period 1918 - 1939. a casino worked in the building, since 1948 it has turned into the House of Scientists. Currently, the mansion belongs to one of the educational organizations. Lviv masquerade balls are held on its territory.

House of Scientists

Lviv Opera House

Lvov became in dire need of its own opera stage at the end of the 19th century. At that time the city was part of Austria-Hungary and was known as Lemberg. The theater was built in 1900 in a classical style with baroque and renaissance elements. Its architecture was strongly influenced by the "Viennese pseudo-Renaissance" school. The theater building adorns the central part of the city, giving it a resemblance to classical European capitals.

Lviv Opera House

Cathedral of St. George

Cathedral of the Greek Catholic Church of Ukraine - UGCC. Previously, a wooden Orthodox church and monastery (until the 14th century) and a Byzantine-style basilica (until the end of the 18th century) were located in its place. The cathedral was built in the Baroque style according to the project of B. Meretin. From 1946 to 1990 it belonged to the Russian Orthodox Church, but then was returned to the UGCC. The temple complex includes a cathedral, the metropolitan's chambers, a terrace, a bell tower, a garden and chapter houses.

Cathedral of St. George

Church of St. Elizabeth

Neo-Gothic temple of the early 20th century, which, according to legend, was named after the Empress Elisabeth of Bavaria, better known to the people as Sisi. The architect T. Talevsky worked on the project. The master embodied in his creation the features of North German and French temples, and also added a bit of harsh Romanesque style. Since 1991, the church has been called the Church of St. Olga and Elizabeth. It belongs to the UGCC.

Church of St. Elizabeth

latin cathedral

The Catholic Cathedral, which is the only one in Ukraine that has the status of a "minor basilica". In 2001, the temple hosted Pope John Paul II as a guest of honor. The Latin Cathedral was erected in 1360-1479 according to the project of P. Stecher. Restoration work was carried out in the XVIII, XIX centuries and at the beginning of the XX century. The architecture of the building is a mixture of Baroque, Gothic and Renaissance styles.

Latin cathedral

Chapel of the Boims

The chapel was erected at the beginning of the 17th century as a family crypt of the Boim family. The construction is notable for the fact that its walls are decorated with sculptural groups depicting scenes from the Bible. The fact is that religious subjects were embodied mainly in painting. Depicting biblical scenes with the help of sculpture is a rather non-standard solution for that time.

Chapel of the Boims

Armenian Cathedral

Temple of the XIV century, located in the historical part of Lviv. It is one of the oldest religious buildings in the city. The cathedral was built on the site of an Armenian church of the 12th century at the expense of the merchants Panos and Yakov. At the beginning of the 20th century, the building was restored. In 2000, the church was transferred to the Armenian Apostolic Church, although it originally belonged to the Armenian Catholic branch. The fact is that by the time of the transfer, there were almost no Catholic Armenians left in Lviv.

Armenian Cathedral

Dominican monastery and cathedral

The first Dominican monastery was founded in Lviv in the 14th century. The cathedral was erected in the middle of the 18th century according to the project of J. de Witte with the money of Jozef Potocki. The building is one of the most striking monuments of European baroque architecture with all the solemnity and splendor inherent in this style. The monastery complex was restored several times, the last work was carried out in the 1950s.

Dominican monastery and cathedral

Catholic church and monastery of the Bernardines

The monastery arose in the 15th century. Initially, all the buildings of the monastery were made of wood. During the XVI-XVII centuries they were gradually replaced by stone ones. At that time, the monastery was surrounded by powerful fortress walls, the entrance was blocked by reliable gates. St. Andrew's Church was erected in 1600-1630 according to the project of the monk B. Avelid, work on the interior was carried out in the 18th century. The building was renovated in the 1970s.

Catholic church and monastery of the Bernardines

Church of John the Baptist

The temple is located on the Old Market Square. According to one version, it was built in the XIII century under Prince Lev Danilovich. However, some historical data and studies indicate that the building appeared no earlier than the 14th century. The architecture of the building shows features of the Neo-Romanesque style. Nowadays, on the territory of the church there is a branch of the Lviv Art Gallery - the Museum of Ancient Monuments of Lviv.

Church of John the Baptist

Church of the Jesuits

The church was erected in the 17th century according to the design of the Italian master D. Briano. However, the original construction plan was proposed by the monk S. Lahmius. The church is one of the first Baroque buildings erected on the territory of Lviv. In the 18th-19th centuries, the local parliament - the "regional diet" - sat in the church. Since 2011, restoration work has been carried out in the church at the expense of Polish funds.

Church of the Jesuits

Pharmacy Museum "Under the Black Eagle"

The oldest city pharmacy, which has been operating since 1735. In the pharmacy museum you can see an interesting exposition consisting of tablet machines, special dishes with inscriptions in Latin, ancient scales, dried herbs and other interesting things. The exhibits are stored on the shelves of massive wooden cabinets of the 18th century, which further enhances the corresponding "entourage". The pharmacy sells both modern medicines and branded drugs created according to old recipes.

Pharmacy Museum Under the Black Eagle

Lviv beer museum

The museum occupies the semi-basement premises of the Lviv brewery. Its collection is dedicated to the history and traditions of brewing. The exposition opened its doors in 2005. Here are collected bottles and barrels, beer glasses and old recipes (about three hundred exhibits in total). After viewing the exhibition, visitors can go to the tasting room, gift shop and underground restaurant "Robert Doms' Brewhouse".

Lviv beer museum

Shevchenko Guy

Ethnographic exposition in the open air, where you can look at the traditional architecture of the village of Western Ukraine, as well as get acquainted with the everyday life of the people. The museum is located on the territory of the ethno-park "Znesenye". "Shevchenko Hay" consists of several dozens of houses typical for different regions of Ukraine, churches and outbuildings.

Shevchenko Guy

Museum of Ethnography and Artistic Crafts

The collection appeared as a result of the merger of the Museum of the Scientific Society. T. Shevchenko and the City Industrial Museum, founded in the 19th century. The exposition is housed in the historical building of the Galician Savings Bank. The museum funds contain a valuable collection of ethnographic exhibits, as well as handicraft items created by craftsmen.

Museum of Ethnography and Artistic Crafts

Lviv Art Gallery

One of the largest art museums in Ukraine, founded at the beginning of the 20th century. The collection is housed in a neo-Renaissance palace designed by F. Pokutinsky. The gallery exhibits several tens of thousands of paintings by masters from different countries. There are works by I. Levitan, I. Repin, I. Aivazovsky, P. Rubens, F. Goya, Titian, J. Robert and other artists.

Lviv Art Gallery

Andrey Sheptytsky National Museum

The museum was founded at the beginning of the 20th century with the aim of preserving and developing the national Ukrainian culture. The creator was Metropolitan A. Sheptytsky, who at first maintained the exposition at his own expense. Later, the museum switched to state funding. The collection consists of icons, manuscripts, wood carvings, sculptures, engravings, paintings, textiles and ceramics.

Andrey Sheptytsky National Museum

Prison on Lontskogo

Neo-Renaissance building of the former Austro-Hungarian gendarmerie converted into a museum. During the Soviet period, the NKVD administration was located on its territory, during the Second World War - the headquarters of the Gestapo, until 1991 - the detention center of the NKVD (hereinafter - the KGB), until 2009 - the Ministry of Internal Affairs of Ukraine. The museum was opened in 2009 on the initiative of the SBU. Its exposition is dedicated to the victims of the occupation regimes that existed at different times in the territory of Western Ukraine.

Prison on Lontskogo

Lviv railway station

The first city railway station was built in Lviv in 1861 at the initiative of the government of the Austrian Empire. By the beginning of the 20th century, the station could no longer cope with the flow of passengers. In 1904, a modern building appeared, which included waiting rooms for the first, second and third classes, as well as a dining room, a restaurant, a post office and utility rooms. At the time of opening, the Lviv station was considered one of the most modern in Europe.

Lviv railway station

city ​​arsenal

A defensive structure of the 16th century, built from massive stone. The building is an architectural monument of the Renaissance. In 1704, the arsenal was destroyed by the Swedish troops and later rebuilt. Until the XVIII century, there was an armory here, after - a prison, a torture chamber and an executioner's house. Since 1981, the weapons museum has been operating in the arsenal, which exhibits thousands of exhibits from around the world.

City ​​arsenal

Citadel

Remains of Austrian fortifications of the 19th century, which were used at various times by Russian, Polish and Soviet troops during military campaigns in Western Ukraine. One of the well-preserved towers houses the five-star Citadel Inn, whose interior is decorated in the "imperial" style of the heyday of Austria-Hungary.

Citadel

powder tower

In the 16th century, the tower was part of the system of city defensive fortifications and guarded the approaches to Lviv from the north side. The building is a monument of military architecture of the Renaissance. Ammunition, gunpowder and provisions were stored here in case of a siege. The thickness of the walls of the tower is about 2.5 meters, they are made of raw stone. Restoration work was carried out in the middle of the 20th century.

Powder tower

Stryisky park

The park was laid out on the territory of the former Stryisky cemetery at the end of the 19th century according to the plan of the chief gardener of Lvov A. Rering. It is located in the southern part of the city. Initially, about 40 thousand trees were planted, paths were laid and lawns with flower beds were decorated. In Soviet times, the territory of the park was significantly increased due to the wastelands adjacent to it.

Stryisky park

The Freedom Avenue

The central street of the city is 350 meters long, the center of cultural and business life. On Svoboda Avenue, the outlines of the facades of the mansions intertwined features of baroque, classicism and neo-renaissance. A significant contribution to the formation of the architectural appearance of the street was made by the Austrian period in the history of Lviv. Today, Freedom Avenue is one of the "iconic" places for tourists, as well as a favorite street for walking the townspeople.

The Freedom Avenue

High Castle Park

The park is located on the slopes of the Knyazhy (Castle) Hill, almost in the center of Lviv. It covers an area of ​​36 hectares. From the observation deck of the upper terrace offers a magnificent panorama of the city. The High Castle Park was laid out in the 19th century on the site of the fortress of the same name, which by that time had been dismantled by the Austrians. In the middle of the 20th century, a 200-meter-high TV tower was built on its territory.

High Castle Park

Lychakiv cemetery

Cemetery of the XVI century, turned into a memorial museum-reserve. There is a version that back in the Middle Ages, people who died from the plague were buried at this place. The necropolis consists of several parts - the oldest graves, the cemetery of the defenders of Lviv, the rebel quarter, the graves of the victims of the NKVD, the pantheon of prominent Poles and others. There are also several memorials here, including a monument in honor of the UNA unit - the SS Galicia division.

Lychakiv cemetery