Top 20 Sehenswürdigkeiten in Bern, Schweiz

1 198
73 503

Das kleine, gemütliche Bern ist überhaupt nicht wie die Hauptstadt im üblichen Sinne des Wortes. Die im Grünen getauchten Straßen, die mit roten Ziegeln bedeckten Häuser und die Kirchtürme passen besser zu einer wohlhabenden Provinz, in der die Menschen jahrhundertelang ein maßvolles Leben führen und nicht mitten im Geschehen sind. Dennoch ist Bern das Verwaltungszentrum der Schweiz, wohin viele Staaten ihre Botschafter entsenden.

Für Touristen eröffnet sich in der Stadt ein weites Betätigungsfeld. Nachdem Sie die vielen architektonischen Sehenswürdigkeiten in Berns historischen Vierteln besichtigt haben, können Sie die örtlichen Museen besuchen oder die majestätische Aussicht auf die Alpengipfel genießen, die sich gegen den strahlend blauen Himmel erheben.

Was gibt es in Bern zu sehen und wohin?

Die interessantesten und schönsten Orte zum Wandern. Fotos und eine kurze Beschreibung.

Alte Stadt

Der historische Teil von Bern liegt in einer hügeligen Flussbiegung der Aare. Seit 1983 steht es auf der Liste des UNESCO-Weltkulturerbes. Die meisten Sehenswürdigkeiten der Stadt befinden sich in den Altstadtvierteln. Die ersten Siedlungen in dieser Gegend entstanden Ende des 12. Jahrhunderts, als Herzog Berthold V. von Zähringen, der Gründer von Bern, hierher kam. Heute beherbergt dieser Teil der Stadt Restaurants, Hotels, Clubs und Büros in ehemaligen Wohngebäuden.

Alte Stadt

Berner Brunnen

Bern ist berühmt für seine zahlreichen Brunnen, von denen viele im 13.-16. Jahrhundert angelegt wurden. Die Berner Brunnen werden von Statuen fabelhafter Kreaturen des Bildhauers G. Ging bewacht. Die erschreckendste Statue ist der „Kinderfresser“. Dies ist ein böser Riese mit einer Tüte voller Kinderleichen (er isst einen davon). Anscheinend wurde die Skulptur geschaffen, um Eltern dabei zu helfen, ungezogenen Nachwuchs großzuziehen.

Berner Brunnen

Bundespalast

Der Palastkomplex wurde zwischen 1894 und 1902 errichtet. entworfen von G. Auer im Stil der Neorenaissance. Das Gebäude dient als Treffpunkt der Schweizer Behörden. Der Palast ist 64 Meter hoch. Sein Dach wird von einer riesigen Kuppel gekrönt, auf deren Innenseite das Wappen der Schweiz und 22 ihrer Kantone in Mosaikform ausgelegt ist (Stand Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts). Das Gebäude ist für die Öffentlichkeit zugänglich. Von speziellen Galerien aus können Sie die Parlamentssitzung verfolgen.

Bundespalast

Zytglogge

Der astronomische Uhrturm wurde vermutlich im 13. Jahrhundert als Verteidigungsanlage erbaut. Zu Beginn des 15. Jahrhunderts brannte das Gebäude ab, danach wurde es aus heimischem Sandstein neu errichtet. Sein modernes Aussehen erhielt das Gebäude im 16. Jahrhundert. Die alte Zytglogge-Turmuhr ist über 500 Jahre alt. In all diesen Jahrhunderten nutzten die Städter sie, um die genaue Zeit zu bestimmen.

Zytglogge

Gefängnisturm

Der Turm wurde Mitte des 17. Jahrhunderts an der Stelle des Stadttors errichtet. Bis 1897 diente es zur Unterbringung von Gefangenen (daher der Name), danach wurde das Stadtarchiv in den Räumlichkeiten untergebracht. Gleichzeitig befand sich im Turm ein Beobachtungsposten, von dem aus der Hausmeister den beginnenden Brand rechtzeitig bemerken konnte. Jetzt wurde dieser Punkt in eine Aussichtsplattform für Touristen umgewandelt.

Gefängnisturm

Rathaus

Das Berner Rathaus ist ein Beispiel für gemischte Architektur. In ihrem Erscheinungsbild lassen sich romanische Merkmale sowie Elemente der Früh- und Spätgotik vermuten. Das Rathaus wurde zu Beginn des 15. Jahrhunderts für die Bedürfnisse des Stadtrates erbaut. Anschließend wurde das Gebäude immer wieder umgebaut, wobei sich sein architektonisches Erscheinungsbild etwas veränderte. Heute tagt hier neben dem Stadtrat auch das Kirchenparlament des Kantons Bern.

Rathaus

Berner Münster

Kathedrale der Evangelischen Kirche Bern, im historischen Teil der Stadt gelegen. Der Bau des Tempels dauerte mehrere Jahrhunderte – vom 14. bis zum Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts. Der vorherrschende Baustil des Gebäudes ist die Spätgotik. Das Innere der Kathedrale ist recht schlicht und prägnant. Alle überflüssigen Dekorationen wurden laut Kirchenreformern bereits im fernen 16. Jahrhundert von hier entfernt, sodass sich die Gläubigen nur auf die Gemeinschaft mit Gott konzentrieren konnten.

Berner Münster

Niedegkirche

Eine kleine Kirche mit hohem Turm, erbaut in der Mitte des 14. Jahrhunderts. In den schwierigen Jahren der Reformation wurde der Tempel fast aufgegeben

Niedegkirche

Kirche des Heiligen Geistes

Eine bescheidene und anmutige Barockkirche aus dem 18. Jahrhundert, die als eine der bedeutendsten protestantischen Pfarrgemeinden der Schweiz gilt. Wie bei anderen örtlichen Kirchen ist das Innere nicht luxuriös, aber dennoch sind die Wände mit reichem Stuck verziert und in der Halle gibt es eine kreisförmige Galerie mit massiven Säulen. Die Heilig-Geist-Kirche ist eine der größten des Landes. Es bietet Platz für bis zu 2.000 Personen.

Kirche des Heiligen Geistes

Kirche St. Peter und Paul

Die erste katholische Kirche, die nach dem Sieg der Reformation in der Schweiz erbaut wurde. Die Kirche wurde zwischen 1858 und 1864 erbaut. Die Fassade ist in einem gemischten Architekturstil gehalten. Darauf sind die Merkmale des gotischen und spätromanischen Stils zu erkennen. Die Innenräume wurden vor relativ kurzer Zeit im Jugendstil gestrichen – im Jahr 1998. Obwohl die Kirche St. Peter und Paul zu einer katholischen Diözese gehört, ist sie relativ unabhängig vom Vatikan.

Kirche St. Peter und Paul

Paul Klee Zentrum

Das Museum, dessen Sammlung aus Werken von P. Klee besteht, einem avantgardistischen Grafiker und Kunstkritiker. Die Idee, eine Ausstellung zu schaffen, entstand, nachdem die Nachkommen des Meisters der Stadt mehr als 700 seiner Werke geschenkt hatten. Das Museumsgebäude wurde auf Kosten der Familie Müller nach dem Projekt des Architekten R. Piano errichtet. Die Eröffnung fand im Jahr 2005 statt. Die Sammlung befindet sich im unterirdischen Teil des Bauwerks, da Klees Leinwände lichtempfindlich sind.

Paul Klee Zentrum

Albert-Einstein-Hausmuseum

A. Einstein wohnte von 1903 bis 1905 im Haus Kramgasse 49, während er im örtlichen Patentamt arbeitete. Hier verfasste der große Wissenschaftler die ersten Artikel, die die grundlegenden Postulate der Relativitätstheorie behandelten. In Einsteins ehemaliger Wohnung wurde die ursprüngliche Atmosphäre des frühen 20. Jahrhunderts wiederhergestellt, an den Wänden hängen Fotografien des Wissenschaftlers und seiner Familie und in den Regalen lagern wissenschaftliche Arbeiten und Dokumente.

Albert-Einstein-Hausmuseum

Historisches Museum Bern

Das Museum befindet sich am Helvetiaplatz. Das Gebäude wurde Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts erbaut. Von außen sieht es aus wie ein echtes Schloss. Die Museumsausstellung ist in vier große Abschnitte unterteilt, in denen Tausende von Objekten ausgestellt sind. Insgesamt umfassen die Fonds mehr als 250.000 Exponate. Hier können Sie ritterliche Rüstungen, antike Münzen, dekorative Elemente von Tempeln, Kirchenutensilien und vieles mehr besichtigen.

Historisches Museum Bern

Kunstmuseum

Die Sammlung enthält eine große Anzahl von Gemälden schweizerischer, französischer, italienischer und spanischer Meister des XIV.-XX. Jahrhunderts. Besonders hervorzuheben ist die Avantgarde-Ausstellung, die 2014 im Auftrag eines privaten Kunstkenners in das Museum überführt wurde. Es umfasst Werke von S. Dali, P. Cezan, A. Matisse, A. Modigliani, V. Kandinsky und anderen Künstlern. Neben Gemälden verfügt das Museum über 3.000 Skulpturen und 48.000 Stiche.

Kunstmuseum

Naturhistorisches Museum

Naturwissenschaftliche Ausstellung, die 1832 gegründet wurde. Das Museumspersonal arbeitet eng mit der Universität Bern zusammen. Die Sammlung besteht aus Stofftieren, Skeletten, Mineralien und riesigen Kristallen. Es gibt hier sogar Fragmente eines Meteoriten und Goldbarren. In vielen Sälen gibt es interaktive Installationen, die die Gerüche und Geräusche der Tierwelt imitieren. Das Berner Museum verfügt über eine der umfangreichsten naturwissenschaftlichen Ausstellungen der Schweiz.

Naturhistorisches Museum

Museum für Kommunikation

Museumsausstellungen erzählen den Besuchern die Geschichte der Entwicklung verschiedener Kommunikationsmittel. Hier werden alte Telefone, Telegrafen, Radios, Fernseher, Computer und andere Geräte ausgestellt. Ein beeindruckender Teil der Ausstellung ist den digitalen Technologien gewidmet. Das Museum betreibt ein spezialisiertes Sanatorium, in dem Menschen mit Computersucht behandelt werden.

Museum für Kommunikation

"Bärengehege"

„Bärengrube“ ist ein kleiner Bärenpark mit angrenzendem Wassergraben, eine Außenstelle des Stadtzoos Delhölzli. Der Bär gilt als Wappentier Berns

Bärengehege

Botanischer Garten

Der Botanische Garten befindet sich an der Universität Bern. Es enthält eine Sammlung von Pflanzen aus den Tropen, Wüsten, Steppen, Wäldern und Almwiesen. Der Garten wurde 1862 angelegt. In einigen Gewächshäusern mit besonders wertvollen Pflanzen kann der Zugang für Besucher mit Kindern eingeschränkt sein, da die Verwaltung um die Sicherheit empfindlicher Vertreter der Flora besorgt ist, die empfindlich auf kleinste Stöße reagieren.

Botanischer Garten

Rosengarten

Ein romantischer Landschaftspark, in dem etwa 220 Rosenarten und etwa 200 Schwertlilienarten wachsen und duften. Der Garten ist übersät mit Blumen in allen Rot-, Gelb- und Weißtönen. Es bietet einen malerischen Blick auf die Altstadt von Bern, da der Rosengarten auf einem Hügel liegt. Der Garten entstand im 20. Jahrhundert auf dem Gelände des ehemaligen Stadtfriedhofs. Dies ist ein großartiger Ort zum Spazierengehen, Entspannen und philosophischen Nachdenken.

Rosengarten

Park Gurten

Der Gurten liegt nur wenige Kilometer von Bern entfernt. Seine Höhe beträgt etwa 864 Meter. Auf den Elefanten des Berges wird ein gleichnamiger Vergnügungspark organisiert. Im Winter geht man Skifahren und Rodeln, im Sommer Radfahren. Der Park verfügt über ein Hotel, Restaurants und Konferenzeinrichtungen. Alljährlich findet hier das Musikfestival „Gurtenfestival“ statt, das Teilnehmer aus ganz Europa anzieht.

Park Gurten

Top 20 attractions in Bern, Switzerland

1 131
73 173

Small cozy Bern is not at all like the capital in the usual sense of the word. Its streets immersed in greenery, houses covered with red tiles, church spiers would be more appropriate in a prosperous province, where people live a measured life for centuries, and are not in the thick of things. Nevertheless, Bern is the administrative center of Switzerland, where many states send their ambassadors.

A wide field of activity opens up for tourists in the city. After seeing the many architectural sights in Bern's historic districts, you can take to the local museums or enjoy the majestic views of the Alpine peaks that rise against the piercing blue sky.

What to see and where to go in Bern?

The most interesting and beautiful places for walking. Photos and a short description.

Old city

The historical part of Bern, located in a hilly bend of the river Aare. Since 1983 it has been on the UNESCO World Heritage List. Most of the city's attractions are located in the old quarters. The first settlements in this area arose at the end of the 12th century, when Duke Berthold V of Zähringen, the founder of Bern, came here. Today, this part of the city houses restaurants, hotels, clubs and offices in former residential buildings.

Old city

Bernese fountains

Bern is famous for its numerous well-fountains, many of which were created in the 13th-16th centuries. The fountains of Bern are guarded by statues of fabulous creatures made by the sculptor G. Ging. The most frightening statue is the “Child Eater”. This is an evil giant with a bag full of children's bodies (he eats one of them). Apparently, the sculpture was created to help parents raise naughty offspring.

Bernese fountains

federal palace

The palace complex was erected in 1894-1902. designed by G. Auer in neo-Renaissance style. The building is used as a meeting place for Swiss public authorities. The palace is 64 meters high. Its roof is crowned with a huge dome, on the inside of which the coat of arms of Switzerland and 22 of its cantons are laid out in mosaic (as of the beginning of the 20th century). The building is open to the public. From special galleries you can watch the parliamentary session.

Federal palace

Zytglogge

The astronomical clock tower, presumably built in the 13th century as a defensive fortification. At the beginning of the 15th century, the building burned down, after which it was built again from local sandstone. The building acquired its modern look in the 16th century. The old Zytglogge tower clock is over 500 years old. All these centuries, the townspeople used them to determine the exact time.

Zytglogge

prison tower

The tower was built in the middle of the 17th century on the site of the city gates. Until 1897, it was used to keep prisoners (hence the name), then the city archives were placed in the premises. At the same time, an observation post was located in the tower, from where the caretaker could notice the starting fire in time. Now this point has been converted into an observation deck for tourists.

Prison tower

town hall

Bern City Hall is an example of mixed style architecture. In her appearance, Romanesque features are guessed, as well as elements of early and late Gothic. The town hall was built at the beginning of the 15th century for the needs of the city council. Subsequently, the building was repeatedly rebuilt, while its architectural appearance changed somewhat. Today, in addition to the city council, the ecclesiastical parliament of the canton of Bern sits here.

Town hall

Bern Cathedral

Cathedral of the Protestant Church of Bern, located in the historic part of the city. The construction of the temple lasted several centuries - from the 14th to the end of the 19th centuries. The dominant architectural style of the building is late Gothic. The interior of the cathedral is quite simple and concise. All superfluous, according to church reformers, decorations were removed from here back in the distant 16th century, so that believers could focus only on communion with God.

Bern Cathedral

Niedegkirche church

A small church with a high spire, built in the middle of the XIV century. During the difficult years of the Reformation, the temple was almost abandoned; services resumed here only in 1566. In the middle of the 20th century, the building was reconstructed under the guidance of the architect M. Perincaioli. As a result, new bronze reliefs were added to the façade. In 1968, a monument was erected in honor of Berthold V Zähringen in the courtyard of the temple.

Niedegkirche church

Church of the Holy Spirit

A modest and graceful 18th-century baroque temple, which is considered one of the most significant Protestant parishes in Switzerland. Like other local churches, its interior is not luxurious, but still the walls are decorated with rich stucco, and in the hall there is a circular gallery of massive columns. The Church of the Holy Spirit is one of the largest in the country. It can accommodate up to 2 thousand people.

Church of the Holy Spirit

Church of St. Peter and Paul

The first Catholic church built after the victory of the Reformation in Switzerland. The church was built between 1858 and 1864. The facade is made in a mixed architectural style. On it you can see the features of the Gothic and late Romanesque style. The interiors were painted in Art Nouveau style relatively recently - in 1998. Despite belonging to a Catholic diocese, the Church of St. Peter and Paul is relatively independent from the Vatican.

Church of St. Peter and Paul

Paul Klee Center

The museum, whose collection is made up of works by P. Klee, an avant-garde graphic artist and art critic. The idea of ​​creating an exposition appeared after the master's descendants donated more than 700 of his works to the city. The museum building was erected at the expense of the Muller family according to the project of the architect R. Piano. The opening took place in 2005. The collection is located in the underground part of the structure, as Klee's canvases are sensitive to light.

Paul Klee Center

Albert Einstein House Museum

A. Einstein lived in the house at Kramgasse 49 from 1903 to 1905. while working at the local patent office. It was here that the great scientist wrote the first articles that covered the fundamental postulates of the theory of relativity. The original atmosphere of the early 20th century has been recreated in Einstein's former apartment, photographs of the scientist and his family hang on the walls, and scientific papers and documents are stored on the shelves.

Albert Einstein House Museum

Bern Historical Museum

The museum is located on Helvetiaplatz. The building was built at the end of the 19th century. From the outside, it looks like a real castle. The museum exposition is divided into four large sections, where thousands of items are exhibited. In total, the funds contain more than 250 thousand exhibits. Here you can look at knightly armor, ancient coins, decorative elements of temples, church utensils and much more.

Bern Historical Museum

Art Museum

The collection contains a large number of paintings by Swiss, French, Italian and Spanish masters of the XIV-XX centuries. The avant-garde exposition, which was transferred to the museum in 2014 on behalf of a private connoisseur of art, deserves special mention. It includes works by S. Dali, P. Cezan, A. Matisse, A. Modigliani, V. Kandinsky and other artists. In addition to paintings, the museum has 3,000 sculptures and 48,000 engravings.

Art Museum

Museum of Natural History

Natural science exposition, which was founded in 1832. The museum staff closely cooperates with the University of Bern. The collection consists of stuffed animals, skeletons, minerals, huge crystals. There are even fragments of a meteorite and gold bars here. Many halls feature interactive installations imitating the smells and sounds of wildlife. The Bernese Museum has one of the most comprehensive natural science exhibitions in Switzerland.

Museum of Natural History

Museum of Communication

Museum exhibits tell visitors the history of the development of various means of communication. Old telephones, telegraphs, radios, televisions, computers and other devices are exhibited here. An impressive part of the exposition is devoted to digital technologies. The museum operates a specialized sanatorium where people suffering from computer addiction are treated.

Museum of Communication

"Bear Pit"

"Bear Pit" is a small bear park with a moat adjacent to it, they are a branch of the Delhölzli city zoo. The bear is considered the heraldic symbol of Bern; this animal is treated with great reverence here. The first pit appeared in the city in the 15th century, since then it has repeatedly moved from place to place. The park is a popular tourist attraction.

Bear Pit

Botanical Garden

The botanical garden is located at the University of Bern. It contains a collection of plants from the tropics, deserts, steppes, forests and alpine meadows. The garden was created in 1862. In some greenhouses with especially valuable plants, access to visitors with children may be limited, as the administration is worried about the safety of delicate representatives of the flora, sensitive to the slightest impact.

Botanical Garden

rose garden

A romantic landscape park where about 220 varieties of roses and about 200 types of irises grow and smell fragrant. The garden is strewn with flowers in all shades of red, yellow and white. It offers a picturesque view of the historical part of Bern, as the rose garden is located on a hill. The garden arose in the 20th century on the site of the former city cemetery. This is a great place for walking, relaxing and philosophical reflection.

Rose garden

Park Gurten

Mount Gurten is located a few kilometers from Bern. Its height is about 864 meters. An amusement park of the same name is organized on the elephants of the mountain. In winter, people go skiing and sledding, in summer - cycling. The park has a hotel, restaurants and conference facilities. Every year, the musical festival “Gurtenfestival” is held here, which attracts participants from all over Europe.

Park Gurten