Top 30 des attractions de Kaliningrad, Russie

964
25 341

Kaliningrad est peut-être l'une des villes russes les plus intéressantes. Jusqu'en 1945, c'était le centre de la Prusse orientale, une capitale assez européenne avec une architecture et un style de vie caractéristiques. Beaucoup a été préservé depuis cette époque : cathédrales catholiques, bâtiments de style Art nouveau allemand (Jugendstil), fortifications et, bien sûr, les sept célèbres portes de la ville.

Kaliningrad fait une impression ambiguë sur les touristes. D'une part - les façades européennes, de l'autre - les gratte-ciel soviétiques typiques, gâchant l'aspect architectural historique. D'une part, il y a la pittoresque flèche de Courlande et l'île de Kant, d'autre part, la périphérie peu attrayante du travail. Dans tous les cas, le potentiel touristique de la ville est énorme, elle a donc de la place pour se développer et surprendre les futurs voyageurs.

Que voir et où aller à Kaliningrad ?

Les endroits les plus intéressants et les plus beaux pour se promener. Photos et une courte description.

flèche de Courlande

Étroite bande de terre séparant la mer Baltique de la lagune de Courlande. La longueur de l'isthme est d'environ 100 km, il s'étend de Zelenogradsk à Klaipeda (Lituanie). À différents endroits, la largeur de l'isthme de Courlande varie de 400 à 3800 mètres. C'est une zone naturelle unique avec des dunes de sable, des pins, une mer pittoresque (malheureusement, presque toujours froide) et un air merveilleux.

Flèche de Courlande

Château de Königsberg

Le château de Königsberg a été fondé au XIIIe siècle et a existé jusqu'en 1968. Au Moyen Âge, il appartenait aux Chevaliers de l'Ordre Teutonique, plus tard, il y avait des institutions publiques de Prusse orientale sur son territoire. Malheureusement, il ne reste rien de la forteresse. Maintenant à sa place se trouve un musée - une plate-forme d'observation où des fouilles sont en cours. On pense que la légendaire salle d'ambre était située dans ce château.

Château de Königsberg

village de poissons

Un quartier conçu dans le style de l'ancien Koenigsberg, composé de maisons allemandes stylisées. L'endroit est un centre artisanal et ethnographique, que les touristes considèrent comme l'une des principales attractions de la ville. Ici vous pouvez voir des tourelles gothiques, des ponts et des façades de maisons de ville typiques de l'architecture allemande. La construction a commencé en 2006.

Village de poissons

Amalienau

Un des quartiers de l'ancien Königsberg, formé autour du domaine noble. Au début du 20ème siècle, il était situé en dehors des limites de la ville. De célèbres architectes prussiens ont participé au développement des rues, qui ont conçu la plupart des bâtiments en Art nouveau. La zone est principalement constituée de villas du début du XXe siècle (dont beaucoup ont désespérément besoin d'être restaurées) entrecoupées de bâtiments soviétiques d'après-guerre.

Amalienau

cathédrale

Le temple est situé dans le centre historique de Kaliningrad (le nom moderne de cette région est l'île de Kant). Son histoire commence au XIVe siècle, à partir du XVIe siècle elle devient la principale cathédrale protestante de la ville. Le bâtiment a été construit en briques dans le style gothique "balte" et est un monument architectural précieux. Dans les années 1990, une restauration a été effectuée, après quoi un centre culturel et religieux a été installé à l'intérieur.

Cathédrale

Tombe d'Emmanuel Kant

Le célèbre philosophe et écrivain I. Kant est né et mort à Königsberg. Il est enterré près du mur nord de la cathédrale. Jusqu'en 1924, une petite chapelle se tenait au-dessus de sa tombe, plus tard elle fut remplacée par un mémorial plus impressionnant sur un piédestal en granit avec une colonnade en pierre. La tombe est souvent visitée par des admirateurs du travail du penseur, qui viennent à Kaliningrad de différents pays.

Tombe d

Cathédrale du Christ Sauveur

Cathédrale de l'Église orthodoxe russe, construite en 2006. Elle a des dimensions assez impressionnantes et atteint une hauteur de 51 mètres. Le bâtiment a été érigé dans le style de l'architecture de Vladimir-Souzdal avec de petites inclusions de conception moderne, conçues par l'architecte O. Kopylov. Le temple se dresse sur la place centrale de la Victoire (l'ancienne place hanséatique), où se trouvent également la colonne triomphale et les fontaines.

Cathédrale du Christ Sauveur

Église de la Sainte Famille

L'ancienne église catholique du début du XXe siècle, construite dans le style néo-gothique selon le projet de F. Heitmann. Pendant la guerre, le bâtiment a été gravement endommagé. Il a continué à s'effondrer, car personne n'allait le reconstruire. Mais tout a changé après qu'ils aient décidé d'installer ici la Philharmonie de la ville de Kaliningrad. Aujourd'hui, l'ancienne église est en bon état, les touristes peuvent donc admirer son architecture pittoresque.

Église de la Sainte Famille

Cathédrale Sainte-Croix

Église orthodoxe, située dans le bâtiment de l'ancienne église luthérienne. Il a été construit dans les années 1930, lorsque Königsberg faisait encore partie de la Prusse orientale. Le style de construction d'origine peut être défini comme de l'Art nouveau avec un mélange de néoclassicisme et de gothique. Pendant la guerre, le bâtiment n'a presque pas été endommagé, les années suivantes, il a été utilisé pour les besoins des ménages. En 1986, l'église a été transférée à la communauté orthodoxe.

Cathédrale Sainte-Croix

Musée de l'océan mondial

Un musée moderne dédié au monde marin, à la navigation, à la géologie et à l'écologie des océans. Une partie de son exposition est en plein air. Il s'agit principalement de navires, de submersibles de haute mer et d'équipements. À l'intérieur se trouvent des collections de paléontologie, de sciences naturelles et d'art. Il y a aussi un chantier naval, une bibliothèque et une station écologique.

Musée de l

Musée sous-marin "B-413"

Une des expositions du Musée de l'océan mondial. En 1960-1990, ce sous-marin a servi dans la flotte du Nord et a effectué plus d'une fois des voyages longue distance vers l'océan Atlantique et la mer Méditerranée. Depuis 2000, une exposition de musée a été placée à bord, qui est reconnue comme l'une des meilleures de Russie selon le portail de voyage TripAdvisor. La collection est consacrée à l'histoire de la flotte sous-marine russe.

Musée sous-marin B-413

Navire de recherche "Vityaz"

L'exposition principale du Musée de l'océan mondial. Le navire a été construit en Allemagne au chantier naval "Schihau". Avant d'entrer en service dans la marine soviétique, il a réussi à voler sous le pavillon de la Grande-Bretagne et a changé plusieurs fois de nom. Depuis 1949, le Vityaz est le navire de recherche le plus important de l'Institut d'océanologie. P.P. Shirshova. Il a fait plusieurs dizaines d'expéditions de recherche.

Navire de recherche Vityaz

Musée de l'Ambre

Le musée a été créé en 1979 sur le territoire de la Don Tower, une structure défensive allemande du milieu du XIXe siècle. L'exposition est une collection de produits à base d'ambre et du minéral lui-même sous ses différentes formes et couleurs. Certains articles sont de véritables chefs-d'œuvre. Les expositions uniques des siècles passés sont particulièrement intéressantes. Le bâtiment du musée présente également un intérêt culturel considérable.

Musée de l

Musée du Bunker

L'exposition occupe l'ancien abri allemand de 1945, la majeure partie est consacrée à l'assaut de Königsberg, qui a eu lieu un mois avant la fin de la guerre. À cette époque, le poste de commandement du général O. Lyash se trouvait ici. Le bunker se trouve à une profondeur de 7 mètres, sa longueur est de 42 mètres, sa largeur est de 15 mètres, il se compose de 21 chambres. Le musée a ouvert ici en 1968. Pour les touristes, les excursions se déroulent en deux langues : russe et allemand.

Musée du Bunker

Musée d'histoire et d'art

La branche principale du musée est située dans un bâtiment construit en 1912, situé dans la partie centrale de Kaliningrad. L'exposition a ouvert ses portes en 1946. Aujourd'hui, les touristes peuvent visiter cinq salles thématiques : l'histoire de la région, l'archéologie, la nature, la guerre et Horizons de la mémoire. Chaque section contient des collections consacrées à l'histoire et à la culture de la région, de la période antique aux événements modernes.

Musée d

Théâtre dramatique régional de Kaliningrad

La troupe de théâtre existe à Kaliningrad depuis 1947. En 1960, la scène a déménagé dans un bâtiment d'architecture classique, qui appartenait auparavant au théâtre allemand. Le répertoire moderne se compose d'œuvres immortelles d'auteurs classiques. Depuis les années 1980, l'équipe a participé à de nombreux festivals, où les acteurs démontrent leur grand professionnalisme et leur talent.

Théâtre dramatique régional de Kaliningrad

Le bâtiment de la bourse de Königsberg

Le bâtiment a été construit dans les années 1870 selon les plans de l'architecte de Brême G. Müller dans le style néo-Renaissance. En plus de son objectif principal - la tenue de ventes aux enchères, il était souvent utilisé comme salle d'exposition et de concert. Après la guerre, le bâtiment est resté longtemps dans un état déplorable, presque en ruine. La reconstruction n'a été effectuée que dans les années 1960, en conservant l'aspect d'origine.

Le bâtiment de la bourse de Königsberg

Fort n° 5 - Roi Friedrich Wilhelm III

Une fortification construite à la fin du 19ème siècle pour protéger Koenigsberg. Il a été nommé d'après Friedrich Wilhelm III, l'un des rois prussiens. C'est aujourd'hui un bâtiment hexagonal en béton et en brique, qui s'étend sur 215 mètres de long et 105 mètres de large. Lors de l'assaut de la ville en 1945, le fort est gravement endommagé. Aujourd'hui, une exposition est située sur son territoire et des reconstructions historiques ont lieu.

Fort n° 5 - Roi Friedrich Wilhelm III

Porte de Friedland

Porte de style néo-gothique, l'une des sept structures de ce type subsistant à Kaliningrad. On suppose qu'ils ont été construits dans la période 1857-1862 selon la conception d'un architecte inconnu. Depuis 1956, un musée est situé sur le territoire de la porte, qui jusqu'en 2002 n'avait aucun statut officiel. Son exposition est consacrée à l'histoire de Königsberg aux XIXe et XXe siècles.

Porte de Friedland

Porte de Brandebourg

Une autre porte de la ville de la forteresse, située à la frontière du quartier historique de Haberberg. Ils exercent toujours leurs fonctions directes. L'apparence du bâtiment remonte au milieu du XVIIe siècle, mais à cette époque, il y avait ici une structure en bois. Les portes en pierre n'apparaissent qu'un siècle plus tard. En 1843, ils ont été reconstruits, ou plutôt reconstruits. Sous cette forme, ils ont survécu jusqu'à nos jours.

Porte de Brandebourg

porte royale

Un édifice de style pseudo-gothique, construit au XIXe siècle (la toute première porte s'y dressait au début du XVIIIe siècle). Lors de l'assaut de Königsberg, ils ont été endommagés par les bombardements, mais ont tout de même survécu. Depuis 1960, le bâtiment est considéré comme un monument culturel, mais il n'a été restauré qu'au début des années 2000 et a même tenté de le démolir à plusieurs reprises.

Porte royale

Porte de Sackheim

La structure que les touristes peuvent voir aujourd'hui a été construite au milieu du XIXe siècle. Les toutes premières portes sont apparues ici au 17ème siècle. Auparavant, la structure remplissait des fonctions défensives et de point de contrôle. Après la fin de la Seconde Guerre mondiale et jusqu'en 2006, il a été utilisé comme entrepôt. Depuis 2013, la plateforme d'art Gates s'y trouve.

Porte de Sackheim

Porte Rossgarten

La porte sous sa forme actuelle est apparue à Königsberg au 19ème siècle (au 18ème siècle une structure en bois se tenait à leur place). On pense que le légendaire baron Munchausen les a traversés à son retour de Russie en Allemagne. Les portes ont été construites en briques rouges dans un style pseudo-gothique. Elles sont décorées de portraits de célèbres généraux prussiens : D. von Scharnhorst et A. von Gneisenau.

Porte Rossgarten

Porte de Friedrichsburg

Le passage n'était pas destiné à entrer dans Königsberg, mais à donner accès à la forteresse de Friedrichsburg. La porte a été construite en 1852. Elles ont survécu jusqu'à ce jour presque sous leur forme originale, malgré le fait qu'elles aient été gravement endommagées pendant la guerre. Pendant un certain temps, la structure était même menacée de démolition, mais, néanmoins, elle a réussi à être préservée pour la postérité.

Porte de Friedrichsburg

Monument au baron Munchausen

Le baron von Munchausen est une personne réelle et un personnage littéraire célèbre qui est devenu célèbre en tant qu'écrivain de toutes sortes de fables et d'histoires incroyables. Au XVIIIe siècle, il était au service de l'Empire russe. Un monument dédié à cet inventeur a été érigé en 2005. C'est une œuvre d'art moderne en métal. Le monument a été forgé par le maître allemand G. Petau.

Monument au baron Munchausen

Sculpture "Combat de bisons"

Groupe sculptural d'A. Gaul, créé en 1912. Ce maître fut l'un des peintres animaliers les plus célèbres de son temps. La composition est faite sous la forme de figures de deux puissants aurochs luttant l'un contre l'autre dans un combat. La sculpture a survécu avec succès aux années de guerre, elle orne toujours les rues de Kaliningrad et est l'une des attractions de la ville. En 2006, il a été reconstruit et la fontaine a été restaurée.

Sculpture Combat de bisons

Zoo de Kaliningrad

L'une des plus grandes et des plus anciennes ménageries de Russie. Elle a été fondée à la fin du XIXe siècle par l'entrepreneur allemand G. Klass. Le zoo passa à l'URSS après 1945 dans un état déplorable, puisque seuls un hippopotame, un âne, un blaireau et un daim purent survivre aux bombardements. Aujourd'hui, plus de 300 espèces d'animaux (environ 3 500 000 individus) y vivent. Il y a aussi un arboretum avec des plantes rares sur le territoire.

Zoo de Kaliningrad

jardin botanique

Le premier jardin botanique est apparu à Königsberg à la fin du XVIIIe siècle. En 1809, il a été transféré à l'université locale. Au début du XXe siècle, une nouvelle zone verte a été fondée dans la ville, qui est devenue plus tard le Jardin botanique de l'IKBFU. I.Kant. Aujourd'hui, plus de 2 500 000 plantes de différentes parties du monde poussent ici. Des serres, des serres et des pépinières ont été créées pour eux.

Jardin botanique

parc central

Zone de loisirs urbaine qui comprend la zone de l'ancien parc Luisanval et du cimetière d'Altstadt. Au début du XIXe siècle, la résidence d'été de la famille royale prussienne se trouvait ici. Parmi les curiosités de l'endroit, on peut distinguer l'église Art nouveau à la mémoire de la reine Louise, les monuments au baron Munchausen et V. Vysotsky, ainsi que quelques petites fontaines.

Parc central

Parc de la jeunesse

Le parc a été créé dans la période d'après-guerre, lorsque Königsberg est passé sous la juridiction de l'URSS. Dans les années 1980-90, c'était une zone de loisirs typique avec des manèges et d'autres divertissements le week-end. Après l'effondrement du pays, il est tombé en ruine et en 2004, il a été presque détruit en raison du fait que des entreprises de construction ont revendiqué le terrain. Grâce à l'activité des organismes publics, le parc a été préservé et reconstruit.

Parc de la jeunesse

Top 30 attractions of Kaliningrad, Russia

964
25 341

Kaliningrad is perhaps one of the most interesting Russian cities. Until 1945, it was the center of East Prussia, quite a European capital with characteristic architecture and lifestyle. Much has been preserved since those times: Catholic cathedrals, buildings in the German Art Nouveau (Jugendstil) style, fortifications and, of course, the seven famous city gates.

Kaliningrad makes an ambiguous impression on tourists. On the one hand - European facades, on the other - typical Soviet high-rise buildings, spoiling the historical architectural appearance. On the one hand, there are the picturesque Curonian Spit and Kant Island, on the other, the unattractive working outskirts. In any case, the tourist potential of the city is huge, so it has room to develop and surprise future travelers.

What to see and where to go in Kaliningrad?

The most interesting and beautiful places for walking. Photos and a short description.

curonian spit

A narrow strip of land separating the Baltic Sea from the Curonian Lagoon. The length of the isthmus is about 100 km, it stretches from Zelenogradsk to Klaipeda (Lithuania). In different places, the width of the Curonian Spit ranges from 400 to 3800 meters. This is a unique natural area with sand dunes, pine trees, a picturesque sea (unfortunately, almost always cold) and wonderful air.

Curonian spit

Königsberg Castle

Königsberg Castle was founded in the 13th century and existed until 1968. In the Middle Ages it belonged to the Knights of the Teutonic Order, in later times there were public institutions of East Prussia on its territory. Unfortunately, nothing remains of the fortress. Now in its place is a museum - an observation deck where excavations are underway. It is believed that the legendary Amber Room was located in this castle.

Königsberg Castle

fish village

A quarter designed in the style of the old Koenigsberg, consisting of stylized German houses. The place is a craft and ethnographic center, which tourists consider one of the main city attractions. Here you can see Gothic turrets, bridges and facades of town houses typical of German architecture. Construction began in 2006.

Fish village

Amalienau

One of the districts of the former Königsberg, formed around the noble estate. At the beginning of the 20th century, it was located outside the city limits. Famous Prussian architects took part in the development of the streets, who designed most of the buildings in Art Nouveau. The area is mostly built up with villas from the early 20th century (many of them in desperate need of restoration) interspersed with post-war Soviet buildings.

Amalienau

Cathedral

The temple is located in the historical center of Kaliningrad (the modern name of this area is Kant Island). Its history began in the 14th century, from the 16th century it became the main Protestant cathedral of the city. The building was built of brick in the style of "Baltic" Gothic and is a valuable architectural monument. In the 1990s, restoration was carried out, after which a cultural and religious center was located inside.

Cathedral

Grave of Immanuel Kant

The famous philosopher and writer I. Kant was born and died in Königsberg. He is buried near the north wall of the cathedral. Until 1924, a small chapel stood over his grave, later it was replaced by a more impressive memorial on a granite pedestal with a stone colonnade. The tomb is often visited by admirers of the thinker's work, who come to Kaliningrad from different countries.

Grave of Immanuel Kant

Cathedral of Christ the Savior

Cathedral of the Russian Orthodox Church, built in 2006. It has quite impressive dimensions and reaches a height of 51 meters. The building was erected in the style of Vladimir-Suzdal architecture with small inclusions of modern design, designed by architect O. Kopylov. The temple stands on the central Victory Square (the former Hanseatic Square), where the Triumphal Column and fountains are also located.

Cathedral of Christ the Savior

Church of the Holy Family

The former Catholic church of the beginning of the 20th century, built in the neo-Gothic style according to the project of F. Heitmann. During the war, the building was badly damaged. It continued to collapse, as no one was going to reconstruct it. But everything changed after they decided to place the Kaliningrad City Philharmonic here. Today, the former church is in good condition, so tourists can admire its picturesque architecture.

Church of the Holy Family

Holy Cross Cathedral

Orthodox church, which is located in the building of the former Lutheran church. It was built in the 1930s, when Königsberg was still part of East Prussia. The original building style can be defined as Art Nouveau with an admixture of neoclassicism and gothic. During the war, the building was almost not damaged, in subsequent years it was used for household needs. In 1986, the church was transferred to the Orthodox community.

Holy Cross Cathedral

Museum of the World Ocean

A modern museum dedicated to the marine world, shipping, geology and ecology of the oceans. Part of its exposition is in the open air. These are mainly ships, deep-sea submersibles and equipment. Inside are paleontological, natural science and art collections. There is also a shipyard, a library and an ecological station.

Museum of the World Ocean

Submarine Museum "B-413"

One of the exhibits of the Museum of the World Ocean. In 1960–90, this submarine served in the Northern Fleet and more than once made long-distance voyages to the Atlantic Ocean and the Mediterranean Sea. Since 2000, a museum exposition has been placed on board, which is recognized as one of the best in Russia according to the TripAdvisor travel portal. The collection is dedicated to the history of the Russian submarine fleet.

Submarine Museum B-413

Research vessel "Vityaz"

The main exhibit of the Museum of the World Ocean. The ship was built in Germany at the shipyard "Schihau". Before starting service in the Soviet Navy, it managed to fly under the flag of Great Britain and changed its name several times. Since 1949, the Vityaz has been the most important research ship of the Institute of Oceanology. P. P. Shirshova. He made several dozen research expeditions.

Research vessel Vityaz

Amber Museum

The museum was created in 1979 on the territory of the Don Tower, a German defensive structure of the mid-19th century. The exposition is a collection of products made of amber and the mineral itself in its various forms and colors. Some items are real masterpieces. Of particular interest are the unique exhibits of past centuries. The building of the museum is also of considerable cultural interest.

Amber Museum

Bunker Museum

The exposition occupies the former German bomb shelter of 1945, most of it is devoted to the assault on Königsberg, which took place a month before the end of the war. In those days, the command post of General O. Lyash was located here. The bunker lies at a depth of 7 meters, its length is 42 meters, its width is 15 meters, it consists of 21 rooms. The museum opened here in 1968. For tourists, excursions are conducted in two languages: Russian and German.

Bunker Museum

Historical and Art Museum

The main branch of the museum is located in a building built in 1912, which is located in the central part of Kaliningrad. The exposition opened in 1946. Today, tourists can visit five thematic halls: the history of the region, archeology, nature, war, and Horizons of Memory. Each section contains collections dedicated to the history and culture of the region from the ancient period to modern events.

Historical and Art Museum

Kaliningrad Regional Drama Theater

The theater troupe has existed in Kaliningrad since 1947. In 1960, the stage moved to a building of classical architecture, which previously belonged to the German theater. The modern repertoire consists of immortal works by classical authors. Since the 1980s, the team has taken part in many festivals, where actors demonstrate their high professionalism and skill.

Kaliningrad Regional Drama Theater

The building of the Königsberg stock exchange

The building was built in the 1870s according to the design of the Bremen architect G. Müller in the Neo-Renaissance style. In addition to its main purpose - holding auctions, it was often used as an exhibition and concert hall. After the war, the building was in a deplorable state for a long time, almost in ruins. Reconstruction was carried out only in the 1960s, retaining the original appearance.

The building of the Königsberg stock exchange

Fort No. 5 - King Friedrich Wilhelm III

A fortification built in the late 19th century to protect Koenigsberg. It was named after Friedrich Wilhelm III, one of the Prussian kings. Today it is a hexagonal building made of concrete and brick, stretching 215 meters long and 105 meters wide. During the assault on the city in 1945, the fort was badly damaged. Today, an exposition is located on its territory, and historical reconstructions are taking place.

Fort No. 5 - King Friedrich Wilhelm III

Friedland Gate

Gate in the neo-Gothic style, one of the seven surviving structures of this type in Kaliningrad. It is assumed that they were built in the period 1857-1862 according to the design of an unknown architect. Since 1956, a museum has been located on the territory of the gate, which until 2002 had no official status. Its exposition is dedicated to the history of Königsberg in the 19th–20th centuries.

Friedland Gate

Brandenburg Gate

Another city gate of the fortress, standing on the border of the historic district of Haberberg. They still perform their direct functions. The appearance of the building dates back to the middle of the 17th century, but at that time there was a wooden structure here. Stone gates appeared only a century later. In 1843 they were reconstructed, or rather, rebuilt. In this form, they have survived to this day.

Brandenburg Gate

royal gate

A building in a pseudo-Gothic style, built in the 19th century (the very first gate stood here from the beginning of the 18th century). During the assault on Königsberg, they were damaged by bombing, but still survived. Since 1960, the building has been considered a cultural monument, but it was not restored until the early 2000s and even tried to demolish it several times.

Royal gate

Sackheim Gate

The structure that tourists can see today was built in the middle of the 19th century. The very first gates appeared here in the 17th century. Previously, the structure performed defensive and checkpoint functions. After the end of the Second World War and until 2006, it was used as a warehouse. Since 2013, the Gates art platform has been located here.

Sackheim Gate

Rossgarten Gate

The gate in its current form appeared in Königsberg in the 19th century (in the 18th century a wooden structure stood in their place). It is believed that the legendary Baron Munchausen passed through them when he returned from Russia to Germany. The gates were built of red brick in pseudo-Gothic style. They are decorated with portraits of famous Prussian generals: D. von Scharnhorst and A. von Gneisenau.

Rossgarten Gate

Friedrichsburg Gate

The passage was not intended to enter Königsberg, but to provide access to the Friedrichsburg fortress. The gate was built in 1852. They have survived to this day almost in their original form, despite the fact that they were badly damaged during the war. For some time, the structure was even under the threat of demolition, but, nevertheless, it was managed to be preserved for posterity.

Friedrichsburg Gate

Monument to Baron Munchausen

Baron von Munchausen is a real person and a famous literary character who became famous as a writer of all sorts of fables and incredible stories. In the XVIII century, he was in the service of the Russian Empire. A monument dedicated to this inventor was erected in 2005. It is a piece of modern art made of metal. The monument was forged by the German master G. Petau.

Monument to Baron Munchausen

Sculpture "Fighting Bison"

Sculptural group by A. Gaul, created in 1912. This master was one of the most famous animal painters of his time. The composition is made in the form of figures of two mighty aurochs grappling with each other in a fight. The sculpture successfully survived the war years, it still adorns the streets of Kaliningrad and is one of the city's attractions. In 2006, it was reconstructed and the fountain was restored.

Sculpture Fighting Bison

Kaliningrad Zoo

One of the largest and oldest menageries in Russia. It was founded at the end of the 19th century by the German entrepreneur G. Klass. The zoo passed to the USSR after 1945 in a deplorable state, since only a hippopotamus, a donkey, a badger and a fallow deer could survive the shelling and bombardment. Today, more than 300 species of animals (approximately 3,500 thousand individuals) live in it. There is also an arboretum with rare plants on the territory.

Kaliningrad Zoo

Botanical Garden

The first botanical garden appeared in Königsberg at the end of the 18th century. In 1809 it was transferred to the local university. At the beginning of the 20th century, a new green zone was founded in the city, which later became the Botanical Garden of the IKBFU. I. Kant. Today, more than 2,500 thousand plants from different parts of the world grow here. Greenhouses, greenhouses and nurseries have been created for them.

Botanical Garden

central park

Urban recreation area that includes the area of ​​the former Luisanval Park and Altstadt Cemetery. At the beginning of the 19th century, the summer residence of the Prussian royal family was located here. Among the sights of the place, one can single out the Art Nouveau church in memory of Queen Louise, the monuments to Baron Munchausen and V. Vysotsky, as well as a couple of small fountains.

Central park

Youth Park

The park was created in the post-war period, when Königsberg came under the jurisdiction of the USSR. In the 1980s-90s, it was a typical recreational area with rides and other weekend entertainment. After the collapse of the country, it fell into disrepair, and in 2004 it was almost destroyed due to the fact that construction companies claimed the land. Thanks to the activity of public organizations, the park was preserved and reconstructed.

Youth Park