Top 20 des attractions à Corfou, Grèce

1 049
76 446

Corfou se distingue des autres stations balnéaires grecques. Selon la plupart des touristes, la qualité du service dans les hôtels de l'île est d'un ordre de grandeur supérieur à celui de Halkidiki, Rhodes ou Crète. Et bien que vous ne trouviez pas d'anciens temples et théâtres antiques ici, Corfou possède un assez grand nombre de monuments bien conservés de l'architecture byzantine, des monastères et des palais orthodoxes.

Corfou a des paysages incroyablement pittoresques. Depuis les plates-formes d'observation dispersées dans toute l'île, une vue inoubliable sur la côte, les plaines fertiles, les bosquets de conifères, les collines verdoyantes et les petits villages s'ouvre. L'air méditerranéen curatif de Corfou est capable de renforcer la santé et de dynamiser, et le doux soleil vous donnera un bronzage doré et uniforme.

Que voir sur l'île de Corfou ?

Les endroits les plus intéressants et les plus beaux pour se promener. Photos et une courte description.

Vieille ville de Kerkyra

Kerkyra a été fondée par les Grecs au 8ème siècle avant JC. Au cours de sa longue histoire, il a changé de propriétaires à plusieurs reprises. La ville appartenait aux empires romain et byzantin, à la République de Venise, aux Turcs ottomans, aux Français et aux Britanniques. Au début du XIXe siècle, Kerkyra était sous le protectorat de l'Empire russe pendant sept ans. Depuis 2007, le centre-ville est inscrit sur la liste du patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO pour sa valeur architecturale particulière.

Vieille ville de Kerkyra

Parc aquatique Aqualand

Un complexe de divertissement pour toute la famille avec un grand nombre d'attractions aquatiques. Le parc aquatique a créé des conditions pour les visiteurs de tous âges, de sorte que même les plus petits enfants ne s'ennuieront pas. L'infrastructure comprend une gamme de services pour les personnes handicapées. Aqualand est l'un des plus grands parcs aquatiques de Grèce. Il est situé sur une superficie de 75 mille m².

Parc Aquatique Aqualand

Paléo Frurio

Un fort vénitien construit aux XVe-XVIe siècles sur les fondations d'une forteresse byzantine du VIIIe siècle. Au pied de la colline, sur laquelle s'élève la fortification, l'église Saint-Georges a été construite, décorée de colonnes doriques. Le temple a déjà été construit sous les Britanniques au 19ème siècle. De nombreux bâtiments de la forteresse, tels que le palais du gouverneur vénitien et certaines églises, n'ont pas survécu à ce jour.

Paléo Frurio

Néo Frurio

Une autre forteresse vénitienne, construite au XVIe siècle pour renforcer la ligne de défense de Corfou. Par la suite, la construction a été achevée par les Britanniques et les Français. Neo Frurio est situé au sommet de la colline Saint-Marc. Aujourd'hui, une partie des locaux est utilisée comme bureaux du port maritime, l'autre partie est ouverte au public. Sur le territoire de la forteresse, il y a une petite galerie, où des expositions sont parfois organisées.

Néo Frurio

Rue Liston (Kerkyra)

La rue a été fondée en 1807-14. Les architectes I. Parmesan et M. de Lesseps ont travaillé sur le projet. Il a été créé à l'image des "promenades" parisiennes caractéristiques de la capitale française. Initialement, l'accès à l'allée n'était autorisé qu'aux représentants des familles aristocratiques. Un grand nombre de boutiques de souvenirs, de bijouteries et de cafés se sont concentrés sur Liston Street.

Rue Liston (Kerkyra)

Place Spianada (Kerkyra)

L'une des places centrales de Corfou, entourée d'une végétation pittoresque et de bâtiments historiques. Il est situé près de la forteresse Paleo Frurio et de la principale promenade touristique st. Liston. La place Spianada est un endroit très confortable et accueillant pour les promenades tranquilles, qui est constamment utilisé par les touristes et les habitants. Autour de la place se trouvent des tavernes où vous pourrez déguster une cuisine grecque copieuse.

Place Spianada (Kerkyra)

Palais Achillion

Le complexe du palais a été construit en 1890 à la demande de l'impératrice autrichienne Amalia Elisabeth de Bavière. Corfou était le lieu de vacances préféré d'Elizabeth

Palais Achillion

Palais des Saints Michel et George

Le palais a été construit en 1819-24. pour le gouverneur britannique des îles Ioniennes. Le sénat local et le siège de l'ordre chevaleresque de Saint-Georges se trouvaient ici. Le complexe est construit dans un style classique. Sa façade est ornée d'une longue rangée de colonnes ioniques. Aujourd'hui, le palais abrite le Musée d'art asiatique, qui abrite une vaste collection du diplomate G. Manos, collectionnée par lui lors de ses longs voyages en Asie.

Palais des Saints Michel et George

île aux souris

Une petite île avec le nom officiel "Pontikonisi", située au sud de Corfou. Il y a une légende selon laquelle il s'agit du navire d'Ulysse, qui a été transformé en pierre par le dieu en colère Poséidon. L'endroit a été surnommé "Mouse Island" en raison de sa petite taille. L'île est facile à parcourir à pied en quelques minutes. Des bateaux relient Corfou à Pontikonisi. Certains touristes préfèrent nager jusqu'à l'endroit.

Île aux souris

Monastère de Vlaherna

Monastère orthodoxe des XVIIIe-XIXe siècles, fondé par la pieuse famille Tsilibaris. Tout au long du XXe siècle, le monastère était féminin, après une courte période de déclin en 2005, par décret du président de la Grèce, il a été relancé en tant qu'homme. Le monastère est situé sur une petite île à côté de Mouse Island. Elle est reliée au continent par un isthme étroit. L'icône vénérée de la Mère de Dieu des Blachernes est conservée dans le monastère.

Monastère de Vlaherna

Monastère de Paleokastritsa

Monastère d'hommes du XVIIe siècle, situé dans la pittoresque partie ouest de Corfou. Il est situé au sommet d'un cap, entouré sur trois côtés par les eaux de la mer Ionienne. Le monastère a été érigé sur le site d'un ancien monastère détruit en 1225. L'icône de Skopietissa (Paleokastritsa) et l'icône de l'Assomption de la Mère de Dieu sont conservées dans ses murs. Non loin du complexe du monastère, il y a une cave, un musée d'icônes et une usine d'huile d'olive.

Monastère de Paleokastritsa

Cathédrale Saint-Spyridon (Kerkyra)

Le temple est situé parmi les quartiers historiques de Corfou, en plein cœur de la vieille ville. Beaucoup de fonds pour le développement de l'église ont été donnés par l'impératrice russe Catherine II. Le temple a toujours été considéré comme l'un des plus luxueux des îles Ioniennes. Son intérieur est richement décoré de fresques des XVIIe-XVIIIe siècles. à l'italienne. Les reliques de saint Spyridon, le saint patron de Corfou, sont conservées dans la cathédrale.

Cathédrale Saint-Spyridon (Kerkyra)

Cimetière britannique (Kerkyra)

Corfou était sous le protectorat de la Grande-Bretagne dans la période 1815-64. Comme les Britanniques appartiennent à l'Église anglicane, ils avaient besoin de leur propre nécropole, qui a été organisée presque immédiatement après que l'île soit passée sous le contrôle des Britanniques. Les sépultures les plus anciennes datent de 1817. Des soldats ayant participé aux guerres mondiales, ainsi que des représentants de l'administration britannique, sont enterrés dans le cimetière britannique.

Cimetière britannique (Kerkyra)

Forteresse d'Angelokastro

Le bâtiment est un monument important de l'époque byzantine à Corfou. Elle a été érigée au début du XIIIe siècle. Depuis le 14ème siècle, la République vénitienne est propriétaire de la forteresse. Pendant le siège par les troupes de l'Empire ottoman, Angelokastro a résisté à l'assaut, malgré sa petite garnison. La forteresse a survécu à ce jour dans un assez bon état. Depuis 2009, la fortification est ouverte au public.

Forteresse d

Château de Kassiopi

Kassiopi est une petite ville de Corfou d'environ 1200 habitants. On pense que des colonies existent sur ce site depuis l'époque du roi Pyrrhus (3ème siècle avant JC). Le château de Kassiopi a été fondé sur les ruines d'une fortification romaine à l'époque byzantine. Plus tard, les Vénitiens ont travaillé dur pour renforcer la forteresse. Le bâtiment est situé sur un cap. Il est bien visible depuis le port.

Château de Kassiopi

"Canal de l'amour" à Sidari

Un endroit incroyablement pittoresque situé dans la partie nord-ouest de l'île, non loin de la plage de Sidari. Le "Channel of Love" se compose de plusieurs bandes d'eau étroites, prises en sandwich entre des rochers et se terminant par de petites baies. Ce "fjord" grec a une eau incroyablement chaude et une plage de sable confortable. L'endroit est très populaire parmi les touristes en raison de sa beauté et de son expressivité.

Canal de l

Plage de Paleokastritsa

Plage de sable et de galets, située à 23,5 km. de la ville de Corfou. Elle diffère en ce que même le jour le plus chaud, l'eau y reste relativement froide. La plage est entourée de collines pittoresques. Dans ses environs, il y a de belles criques et baies qui peuvent être explorées en louant un petit bateau. Paleokastritsa est un site de plongée populaire pour les plongeurs débutants et expérimentés.

Plage de Paleokastritsa

Plage d'Agios Gordios

La plage est située dans la partie ouest de Corfou. Il est entouré de collines, de pinèdes et de vergers d'agrumes. La majeure partie de la plage est recouverte de galets, mais il y a aussi une zone sablonneuse. La longueur totale d'Agios Gordios est d'environ 1,5 km. Un large éventail de divertissements est proposé aux touristes. Ici, vous pouvez louer du matériel aquatique, faire du saut à l'élastique, faire du bateau ou du parapente.

Plage d

Mont Pantocrator

La plus haute montagne de l'île (906 mètres d'altitude). À son sommet se trouve un monastère et des tours de télécommunications modernes. Depuis le pont d'observation de Pantokrator, par temps clair, vous pouvez même voir les rives lointaines de la péninsule des Apennins. Pour les touristes, il existe plusieurs sentiers de randonnée le long desquels vous pouvez monter jusqu'au sommet. L'ascension dure environ deux heures.

Mont Pantocrator

Point de vue Trône du Kaiser

Aire de jeux équipée, située sur les rochers près du village de Pelekas. L'empereur allemand Guillaume II aimait y passer des minutes de repos (d'où le nom du lieu). Le site offre un panorama circulaire des environs - vous pouvez voir le mont Pantokrator, la côte de l'Albanie, les côtes ouest et est de Corfou, ainsi que toutes les beautés de la vallée verdoyante de Ropa.

Point de vue Trône du Kaiser

Top 20 attractions in Corfu, Greece

1 049
76 446

Corfu stands apart from other Greek resorts. According to most tourists, the quality of service in the hotels of the island is an order of magnitude higher than in Halkidiki, Rhodes or Crete. And although you can’t find ancient ancient temples and theaters here, Corfu has a fairly large number of well-preserved monuments of Byzantine architecture, Orthodox monasteries and palaces.

Corfu has incredibly picturesque landscapes. From the observation platforms scattered throughout the island, an unforgettable view of the coast, fertile plains, coniferous groves, green hills and small villages opens up. The healing Mediterranean air of Corfu is able to strengthen health and energize, and the gentle sun will give you a golden even tan.

What to see on the island of Corfu?

The most interesting and beautiful places for walking. Photos and a short description.

Old city of Kerkyra

Kerkyra was founded by the Greeks in the 8th century BC. Over the long history of its existence, it has changed owners many times. The city was owned by the Roman and Byzantine empires, the Republic of Venice, the Ottoman Turks, the French and the British. At the beginning of the 19th century, Kerkyra was under the protectorate of the Russian Empire for seven years. Since 2007, the city center has been included in the UNESCO World Heritage List for its special architectural value.

Old city of Kerkyra

Aqualand Waterpark

An entertainment complex for the whole family with a huge number of water attractions. The water park has created conditions for visitors of all ages, so even the smallest children will not be bored. The infrastructure includes a range of services for people with disabilities. Aqualand is one of the largest water parks in Greece. It is located on an area of ​​75 thousand m².

Aqualand Waterpark

Paleo Frurio

A Venetian fort built in the 15th-16th centuries on the foundations of a Byzantine fortress from the 8th century. At the foot of the hill, on which the fortification rises, the church of St. George was built, decorated with Doric columns. The temple was built already under the British in the 19th century. Many buildings of the fortress, such as the palace of the Venetian governor and some churches, have not survived to this day.

Paleo Frurio

Neo Frurio

Another Venetian fortress, built in the 16th century to strengthen the defense line of Corfu. Subsequently, the construction was completed by the British and French. Neo Frurio is located at the top of St. Mark's Hill. Today, part of the premises is used as offices of the seaport, the other part is open to the public. On the territory of the fortress there is a small gallery, where exhibitions are sometimes held.

Neo Frurio

Liston Street (Kerkyra)

The street was founded in 1807-14. The architects I. Parmesan and M. de Lesseps worked on the project. It was created in the image of the Parisian "promenades" characteristic of the French capital. Initially, access to the alley was allowed only to representatives of aristocratic families. A large number of souvenir shops, jewelry stores and cafes have concentrated on Liston Street.

Liston Street (Kerkyra)

Spianada Square (Kerkyra)

One of the central squares of Corfu, surrounded by picturesque vegetation and historical buildings. It is located near the Paleo Frurio fortress and the main tourist promenade st. Liston. Spianada Square is a very comfortable and cozy place for leisurely walks, which is constantly used by tourists and locals. Around the square are taverns where you can taste hearty Greek cuisine.

Spianada Square (Kerkyra)

Achillion Palace

The palace complex was built in 1890 at the behest of the Austrian Empress Amalia Elisabeth of Bavaria. Corfu was Elizabeth's favorite vacation spot; she often fled here from the hated and pompous Vienna. After the death of the Empress, the palace became the residence of Kaiser Wilhelm II. By his decree, the interiors were updated. Nowadays, the palace houses a museum.

Achillion Palace

Palace of Saints Michael and George

The palace was built in 1819-24. for the British Governor of the Ionian Islands. The local senate and the headquarters of the knightly order of St. George were located here. The complex is built in a classical style. Its façade is decorated with a long row of Ionic columns. Today, the palace houses the Museum of Asian Art, which houses an extensive collection of the diplomat G. Manos, collected by him during his long travels in Asia.

Palace of Saints Michael and George

mouse island

A small island with the official name "Pontikonisi", located south of Corfu. There is a legend that this is the ship of Odysseus, which was turned into stone by the angry god Poseidon. The place was nicknamed "Mouse Island" due to its tiny size. The island is easy to get around on foot in a few minutes. Boats run from Corfu to Pontikonisi. Some tourists prefer to swim to the place.

Mouse island

Vlaherna Monastery

Orthodox monastery of the 18th-19th centuries, founded by the pious Tsilibaris family. Throughout the 20th century, the monastery was female, after a short period of decline in 2005, by decree of the President of Greece, it was revived as male. The monastery is located on a small island next to Mouse Island. It is connected to the mainland by a narrow isthmus. The revered icon of the Blachernae Mother of God is kept in the monastery.

Vlaherna Monastery

Monastery in Paleokastritsa

Men's monastery of the XVII century, located in the picturesque western part of Corfu. It is located on the top of a cape, surrounded on three sides by the waters of the Ionian Sea. The monastery was erected on the site of an old destroyed monastery in 1225. The icon of Skopietissa (Paleokastritsa) and the icon of the Assumption of the Mother of God are kept within its walls. Not far from the monastery complex there is a winery, an icon museum and an olive oil factory.

Monastery in Paleokastritsa

Cathedral of St. Spyridon (Kerkyra)

The temple is located among the historical quarters of Corfu, right in the heart of the Old City. Quite a lot of funds for the development of the church were donated by the Russian Empress Catherine II. The temple has always been considered one of the most luxurious in the Ionian Islands. Its interior is richly decorated with frescoes from the 17th-18th centuries. in Italian style. The relics of St. Spyridon, the patron saint of Corfu, are kept in the cathedral.

Cathedral of St. Spyridon (Kerkyra)

British Cemetery (Kerkyra)

Corfu was under the protectorate of Great Britain in the period 1815-64. Since the British belong to the Anglican Church, they needed their own necropolis, which was organized almost immediately after the island came under the control of the British. The oldest graves date back to 1817. Soldiers who took part in world wars, as well as representatives of the British administration, are buried in the British Cemetery.

British Cemetery (Kerkyra)

Fortress of Angelokastro

The building is an important monument of the Byzantine era in Corfu. It was erected at the beginning of the 13th century. Since the 14th century, the Venetian Republic has owned the fortress. During the siege by the troops of the Ottoman Empire, Angelokastro withstood the onslaught, despite its small garrison. The fortress has survived to this day in a fairly good condition. Since 2009, the fortification has been open to the public.

Fortress of Angelokastro

Castle of Kassiopi

Kassiopi is a small town in Corfu with about 1200 inhabitants. It is believed that settlements have existed on this site since the time of King Pyrrhus (3rd century BC). Kassiopi Castle was founded on the ruins of a Roman fortification during the Byzantine era. Later, the Venetians worked hard to strengthen the fortress. The building is located on a cape. It is well visible from the harbour.

Castle of Kassiopi

"Canal of Love" in Sidari

An incredibly picturesque place located in the northwestern part of the island, not far from the beach of Sidari. The "Channel of Love" consists of several narrow strips of water, sandwiched between rocks and ending in small bays. This Greek “fjord” has incredibly warm water and a cozy sandy beach. The place is very popular among tourists due to its beauty and expressiveness.

Canal of Love in Sidari

Paleokastritsa beach

Sand and pebble beach, located 23.5 km. from the city of Corfu. It differs in that even on the hottest day, the water here remains relatively cold. The beach is surrounded by picturesque hills. In its surroundings there are beautiful coves and bays that can be explored by renting a small boat. Paleokastritsa is a popular diving site for both beginners and experienced divers.

Paleokastritsa beach

Agios Gordios beach

The beach is located in the western part of Corfu. It is surrounded by hills, pine groves and citrus orchards. Most of the beach is covered with pebbles, but there is also a sandy area. The total length of Agios Gordios is about 1.5 km. A wide range of entertainment is provided for tourists. Here you can rent water equipment, go bungee jumping, go boating or paragliding.

Agios Gordios beach

Mount Pantokrator

The highest mountain on the island (906 meters above sea level). At its top is a monastery and modern telecommunications towers. From the observation deck of Pantokrator, on a clear day, you can even see the distant shores of the Apennine Peninsula. For tourists, there are several hiking trails along which you can climb to the top. The ascent takes approximately two hours.

Mount Pantokrator

Viewpoint Throne of the Kaiser

Equipped playground, located on the rocks near the village of Pelekas. The German Kaiser Wilhelm II liked to spend minutes of rest here (hence the name of the place). The site offers a circular panorama of the surroundings - you can see Mount Pantokrator, the coast of Albania, the western and eastern coastlines of Corfu, as well as all the beauties of the green Ropa valley.

Viewpoint Throne of the Kaiser