Топ 25 — достопримечательности в Салониках, Греция

748
78 156

Салоники были основаны в 3 веке до нашей эры. е. С тех пор город неоднократно становился ареной значимых исторических событий. Более того, Салоники остаются важным центром христианства – здесь проповедовал апостол Павел и родились просветители Кирилл и Мефодий. Архитектурное наследие города бесценно, несмотря на то, что исторические кварталы были уничтожены во время пожара в 1917 году. Подавляющее большинство городских церквей и монастырей византийского периода включены в список Всемирного наследия ЮНЕСКО.

Салоники — популярный курорт Эгейского моря и культурная столица Греции. Местные пляжи отмечены «голубым флагом» за чистоту, комфорт и удобство для туристов. В течение года в городе проходит множество красочных фестивалей и интересных мероприятий. Архитектурные памятники римской, византийской и османской эпох расположены прямо посреди жилых кварталов.

Что посмотреть и куда пойти в Салониках?

Самые интересные и красивые места для прогулок. Фото и краткое описание.

Белая башня

Предположительно здание возведено в 10 веке, о чем свидетельствует сохранившаяся надпись на одной из стен. На протяжении веков башня была частью крепостной ограды, отделявшей жилые кварталы от кладбища. Он достигает высоты 27 метров, диаметр кольца стен 23 метра. В 1912 году здание было выкрашено в белый цвет и получило современное название. Сегодня в башне находится музей.

Белая башня

городская набережная

Место, где начинаются все туристические маршруты Салоников. Улица расположена на месте снесенных в 19 веке городских стен. Он протянулся от Белой Башни до порта. Набережная проходит по самой кромке воды. На берегу оживленный проспект и отели. Для туристов оборудованы велосипедные дорожки и пешеходные аллеи, а также уютные зеленые скверы, где можно отдохнуть от полуденного зноя.

Городская набережная

Площадь Аристотеля

Центральная площадь Салоников, окончательно оформившаяся в начале 20 века, когда весь город подвергся масштабной реконструкции после пожара. Здесь постоянно проходят концерты, праздничные мероприятия, политические митинги и другие массовые мероприятия. На площади Аристотеля расположены монументальные неоклассические здания отелей «Электра Палас» и кинотеатра «Олимпион».

Площадь Аристотеля

Памятник Александру Македонскому

Памятник расположен на городской набережной в непосредственной близости от Белой башни. У жителей Салоников особое отношение к личности Александра Македонского. Именно во время его правления город достиг своего максимального расцвета. Фигура царя восседает на вздыбленном коне. На широком постаменте позади статуи Македонянина закреплены копья со щитами, на которые нанесены символические изображения.

Памятник Александру Македонскому

Археологический музей Салоников

Музей был открыт в 1962 г. в здании по проекту П. Карантиноса. Экспозиция охватывает широкий период истории Македонии в целом и города в частности. В результате раскопок было найдено большее количество артефактов. Археологический музей Салоников считается одним из лучших в Греции. Многим ценным артефактам несколько сотен лет, они представляют большую ценность для истории.

Археологический музей Салоников

Военный музей Салоников

Музей работает с 2000 года. Экспозиция расположена в здании начала 20 века.

Военный музей Салоников

Музей византийской культуры

Музей был создан в 1994 году под руководством Министерства культуры и туризма Греции. Экспозиция, как следует из названия, посвящена культурной истории Византийской империи. Коллекция размещена в нескольких тематических залах. Решение о создании музея было принято в 1913 году. Во время Первой мировой войны все артефакты были вывезены в Афины в целях безопасности. Сборка вернулась на место лишь спустя несколько десятков лет.

Музей византийской культуры

Музей борьбы за Македонию

Коллекция музея посвящена аспектам вооруженного конфликта 1904–1908 гг. и его последствия (борьба Греции за область Македонии). Он расположен в неоклассическом здании 19 века по проекту Э. Циллера. Среди экспонатов - оружие, личные вещи руководителей борьбы, книги, газеты, ценные архивные документы. Музей организует групповые экскурсии и образовательные лекции.

Музей борьбы за Македонию

Дом-музей Ататюрка

Знаменитый турецкий лидер Мустафа Кемаль Ататюрк родился в Салониках в 1881 году, когда город был частью Османской империи. Дом, в котором он провел детство и юность, в середине 20 века был превращен в музей. Именно здесь реформатор обсуждал со своими соратниками идеи свободного демократического государства. Все предметы обстановки, предметы мебели, документы, личные вещи Ататюрка в здании являются подлинными.

Дом-музей Ататюрка

Научный центр и Музей техники

Музей был организован в 1978 году с целью популяризации научных открытий и исследований. В экспозиции собраны различные технические механизмы и устройства, которые люди изобретали с древних времен. В музее также есть цифровой планетарий, виртуальный аттракцион и интерактивный технопарк, где можно исследовать различные природные явления в действии.

Научный центр и Музей техники

Еврейский музей

Экспозиция открылась в 2000 году на территории неоклассического здания 1904 года, в котором ранее размещался Банк Аттики. Сооружение чудом уцелело во время разрушительного пожара, охватившего город в 1917 году. Коллекция посвящена бытовым и культурным аспектам жизни еврейской общины Салоников. Внушительная часть коллекции рассказывает о событиях Холокоста, охвативших Европу в 1930-х и 40-х годах.

Еврейский музей

Базилика Святого Димитрия

Храм, возведенный на месте древнеримских бань в IV веке (по одной из общепринятых версий). Первое здание базилики просуществовало до 7 века, затем было разрушено землетрясениями и пожарами. В XIV веке в храме разместили мечеть. Христианские службы возобновились в начале 20 века. Во время пожара 1917 года здание сильно пострадало и было реконструировано к 1950 году. В храме хранятся мощи святого Димитрия Солунского.

Базилика Святого Димитрия

Церковь Святой Софии

Православный храм, внесенный в список Всемирного наследия ЮНЕСКО. Считается, что первая базилика на этом месте появилась в 5 веке. В 8 веке было возведено здание, сохранившееся до наших дней. В 11 веке храм перестраивался и значительно расширялся, с 15 по 20 века. он использовался как мечеть. После возвращения Салоников Греции по итогам Первой Балканской войны церковь вновь была передана христианской общине.

Церковь Святой Софии

Монастырь Влатадон

Православный монастырь, основанный в 14 веке при активном содействии византийской императрицы Анны Палеолог, поселившейся в то время в Салониках. Главный собор монастыря – великолепный архитектурный памятник византийской эпохи, переживший несколько столетий и сохранившийся в отличном состоянии. Остальные постройки относятся к более позднему периоду.

Монастырь Влатадон

Монастырь Латому

Монастырь расположен в центральной части Салоников. Он был основан в V-VI веках, но древние постройки не сохранились до наших дней. Как и многие другие христианские монастыри и церкви, главный храм Латома был превращен в мечеть при турках-османах и просуществовал в этом качестве до начала 20 века. Во время реставрационных работ под слоем штукатурки были обнаружены фрески XII века.

Монастырь Латому

Церковь Святого Николая Орфанос

Главный собор Влатадонского монастыря, посвященный Святому Николаю Чудотворцу (Орфану). Основание храма относится к началу 14 века. Внутренние настенные росписи церкви хорошо сохранились благодаря тому, что стены были покрыты штукатуркой (храм использовался как мечеть до XVII века). Здание включено в список Всемирного наследия ЮНЕСКО как ценный памятник раннехристианской архитектуры.

Церковь Святого Николая Орфанос

Церковь Святого Пантелеймона

Византийский храм XIII века, который находится в центре Салоников. Со всех сторон его окружают современные кварталы. Несмотря на то, что церковь включена в реестр ЮНЕСКО, полностью она не восстановлена. Местами здание имеет довольно запущенный вид, но это не умаляет его архитектурной ценности. Интерьер был утерян, осталось лишь несколько оригинальных фресок.

Церковь Святого Пантелеймона

Церковь Панагии Халкеон

Живописная крестово-купольная церковь раннехристианского периода, возведенная в XI веке. Здание церкви построено из красного кирпича. После перехода Салоников обратно в Грецию в 1912 году храм оставался заброшенным до 1930-х годов. В ходе реставрационных работ церковь Панагии Халкеон приобрела свой первозданный вид. К сожалению, внутренняя роспись стен не очень хорошо сохранилась.

Церковь Панагии Халкеон

Арка Галерии

Памятник архитектуры римской эпохи, входящий в состав погребального комплекса императора Максимилиана Галерия, правившего в III-IV вв. В 5 веке здание было превращено в церковь.

Арка Галерии

Ротонда Галерея

Сооружение начала III века, предположительно построенное в честь языческого бога Зевса. По другой версии, это мемориальный комплекс императора Максимилиана Галерия. В 4 веке здание было превращено в церковь, в 16 веке превращено в мечеть шейха С.Х. Эфенди. В период 1912–1978 гг. на территории ротонды располагалась выставка византийской и раннехристианской скульптуры.

Ротонда Галерея

Греческая Агора и Римский форум

Древнеримский форум был обнаружен в 1960-х годах. в результате раскопок центральной части Салоников. Еще раньше здесь располагалась греческая агора – широкая площадь, окруженная храмами, общественными зданиями и ремесленными мастерскими. Из старинных построек сохранился театр, который после реставрации стал использоваться для концертов, как во времена Древней Греции и Рима.

Греческая Агора и Римский форум

Крепость Эптапиргио

Северная часть крепости была построена в 4 веке при императоре Феодосии I (по альтернативной версии - в 9 веке), южная часть появилась гораздо позже - в 12 веке. До 19 века форт использовался в военных целях, затем на его территории разместили тюрьму. С конца 1980-х годов здание было передано Министерству культуры и туризма. В 1995 году был завершен первый этап археологических раскопок.

Крепость Эптапиргио

Телебашня ОТЕ

Телебашня была возведена в 1966 году и реконструирована в 2005 году. Высота здания достигает 76 метров. Внутри панорамный ресторан расположен на вращающейся платформе, которая делает полный оборот вокруг своей оси за 40 минут. На телебашне также есть смотровая площадка, откуда можно полюбоваться Салониками. Интерьер здания используется для различных официальных мероприятий.

Телебашня ОТЕ

Рынок Модиано

Большой рынок, начавший работу в 1922 г. благодаря купцу еврейского происхождения Э. Модиано. Торговые лавки расположены недалеко от площади Аристотеля, практически в самом центре Салоников. На рынке продаются местные продукты, сувениры, цветы и другие товары. Есть и узерские таверны, где собираются творческие люди. Недалеко от базара находится комплекс турецких бань Яхуди Хамам.

Рынок Модиано

Аквапарк Уотерленд

Аквапарк находится в 8 км от Салоников. Он был открыт в 1994 году. На тот момент его техническое оснащение считалось одним из лучших на юге Европы. Сегодня «Уотерленд» выглядит немного устаревшим, но это не мешает туристам посещать его. В аквапарке есть восемь горок, несколько бассейнов, бары, спортивные площадки, игровая зона для детей и оборудованные места для пикника.

Аквапарк Уотерленд

Top 25 Attractions in Thessaloniki, Greece

819
78 449

Thessaloniki was founded in the 3rd century BC. e. Since then, the city has repeatedly become the scene of significant historical events. Moreover, Thessaloniki remains an important center of Christianity - the Apostle Paul preached here and the enlighteners Cyril and Methodius were born. The architectural heritage of the city is priceless, despite the fact that the historical quarters were destroyed during a fire in 1917. The vast majority of city churches and monasteries of the Byzantine period are included in the UNESCO World Heritage List.

Thessaloniki is a popular Aegean resort and the cultural capital of Greece. Local beaches are marked with a "blue flag" for cleanliness, comfort and convenience for tourists. Throughout the year, the city hosts many colorful festivals and interesting events. Architectural monuments of the Roman, Byzantine and Ottoman eras are located right in the middle of residential areas.

What to see and where to go in Thessaloniki?

The most interesting and beautiful places for walking. Photos and a short description.

White Tower

Presumably, the building was erected in the 10th century, as evidenced by the preserved inscription on one of the walls. For centuries, the tower was part of the fortress fence that separated the residential areas from the cemetery. It reaches a height of 27 meters, the diameter of the ring of walls is 23 meters. In 1912, the building was painted white and received its modern name. Today, the tower houses a museum.

White Tower

city ​​embankment

The place where all the tourist routes of Thessaloniki begin. The street is located on the site of the city walls demolished in the 19th century. It stretched from the White Tower to the port. The embankment runs along the very edge of the water. On the shore are a busy avenue and hotels. Bicycle paths and pedestrian alleys are equipped for tourists, as well as cozy green squares where you can relax from the midday heat.

City ​​embankment

Aristotle Square

The central square of Thessaloniki, which finally took shape at the beginning of the 20th century, when the entire city underwent a large-scale reconstruction after a fire. Concerts, festive events, political rallies and other public events are constantly held here. The monumental neoclassical buildings of the Electra Palace hotels and the Olympion cinema are located on Aristotelous Square.

Aristotle Square

Monument to Alexander the Great

The monument is located on the city embankment in the immediate vicinity of the White Tower. The inhabitants of Thessaloniki have a special relationship with the personality of Alexander the Great. It was during his reign that the city reached its maximum prosperity. The figure of the king is seated on a rearing horse. On a wide pedestal, behind the statue of Macedonian, spears with shields are fixed, on which symbolic images are applied.

Monument to Alexander the Great

Archaeological Museum of Thessaloniki

The museum was opened in 1962 in a building designed by P. Karantinos. The exposition covers a wide period of the history of Macedonia in general and the city in particular. A greater number of artifacts were found as a result of excavations. The Archaeological Museum of Thessaloniki is considered one of the best in Greece. Many valuable artifacts are several hundred years old, they are of great value for history.

Archaeological Museum of Thessaloniki

Military Museum of Thessaloniki

The museum has been operating since 2000. The exposition is located in a building from the beginning of the 20th century; it is considered part of the collection of the Military Museum of Athens. Artifacts and documents relating to various events that took place in the history of Greece are placed here: the Balkan Wars, the Greco-Italian War, the Greek Revolution, the First and Second World Wars. The museum has a library where publications of the Greek Defense Ministry are stored.

Military Museum of Thessaloniki

Museum of Byzantine Culture

The museum was established in 1994 under the supervision of the Ministry of Culture and Tourism of Greece. The exposition, as the name suggests, is dedicated to the cultural history of the Byzantine Empire. The collection is housed in several themed rooms. The decision to establish the museum was made in 1913. During the First World War, all artifacts were taken to Athens for security purposes. The assembly returned to its place only after several decades.

Museum of Byzantine Culture

Museum of the Macedonian Struggle

The museum's collection is devoted to aspects of the armed conflict of 1904–1908. and its consequences (the struggle of Greece for the region of Macedonia). It is located in a 19th century neoclassical building designed by E. Ziller. Among the exhibits there are weapons, personal belongings of the leaders of the struggle, books, newspapers, valuable archival documents. The museum organizes group tours and educational lectures.

Museum of the Macedonian Struggle

House Museum of Ataturk

The famous Turkish leader Mustafa Kemal Atatürk was born in Thessaloniki in 1881, when the city was part of the Ottoman Empire. The house where he spent his childhood and youth was turned into a museum in the middle of the 20th century. It was here that the reformer discussed the ideas of a free democratic state with his associates. All furnishings, pieces of furniture, documents, personal belongings of Ataturk in the building are authentic.

House Museum of Ataturk

Science Center and Museum of Technology

The museum was organized in 1978 in order to popularize scientific discoveries and research. The exposition contains various technical mechanisms and devices that people have been inventing since ancient times. The museum also has a digital planetarium, a virtual attraction and an interactive technology park where you can explore various natural phenomena in action.

Science Center and Museum of Technology

Jewish Museum

The exposition opened in 2000 on the territory of a neoclassical building from 1904, which previously housed the Bank of Attica. The structure miraculously survived the devastating fire that engulfed the city in 1917. The collection is dedicated to everyday and cultural aspects of the life of the Jewish community of Thessaloniki. An impressive part of the collection tells about the events of the Holocaust that swept Europe in the 1930s and 40s.

Jewish Museum

Basilica of Saint Demetrius

A temple erected on the site of ancient Roman baths in the 4th century (according to one of the generally accepted versions). The first building of the basilica existed until the 7th century, then it was destroyed by earthquakes and fires. In the XIV century, a mosque was placed in the temple. Christian services resumed at the beginning of the 20th century. During the fire of 1917, the building was badly damaged and was reconstructed by 1950. The relics of St. Demetrius of Thessalonica are kept in the temple.

Basilica of Saint Demetrius

Church of Hagia Sophia

An Orthodox church listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. It is believed that the first basilica on this site appeared in the 5th century. In the 8th century, a building was erected that has survived to this day. In the 11th century, the temple was rebuilt and significantly expanded, from the 15th to the 20th centuries. it was used as a mosque. After the return of Thessaloniki to Greece following the results of the First Balkan War, the church was again transferred to the Christian community.

Church of Hagia Sophia

Monastery Vlatadon

An Orthodox monastery founded in the 14th century with the active assistance of the Byzantine empress Anna Palaiologos, who at that time settled in Thessaloniki. The main cathedral of the monastery is a magnificent architectural monument of the Byzantine era, which survived several centuries and has been preserved in excellent condition. The rest of the buildings belong to later periods.

Monastery Vlatadon

Monastery of Latomu

The monastery is located in the central part of Thessaloniki. It was founded in the 5th-6th centuries, but the ancient buildings have not survived to this day. Like many other Christian monasteries and churches, the main temple of Latom was turned into a mosque under the Ottoman Turks and existed in this capacity until the beginning of the 20th century. During restoration work, frescoes of the 12th century were discovered under a layer of plaster.

Monastery of Latomu

Church of St. Nicholas Orfanos

The main cathedral of the Vlatadon monastery, dedicated to St. Nicholas the Wonderworker (Orphanos). The foundation of the temple dates back to the beginning of the 14th century. The internal wall painting of the church is well preserved due to the fact that the walls were covered with plaster (the temple was used as a mosque until the 17th century). The building is included in the UNESCO World Heritage List as a valuable monument of early Christian architecture.

Church of St. Nicholas Orfanos

Church of St. Panteleimon

Byzantine temple of the XIII century, which is located in the center of Thessaloniki. From all sides it is surrounded by modern quarters. Despite the fact that the church is included in the UNESCO register, it has not been fully restored. In some places, the building has a rather neglected appearance, but this does not detract from its architectural value. The interior has been lost, with only a few original frescoes remaining.

Church of St. Panteleimon

Church of Panagia Chalkeon

A picturesque cross-domed church of the early Christian period, erected in the 11th century. The building of the church is built of red brick. After the passage of Thessaloniki back to Greece in 1912, the temple stood abandoned until the 1930s. During the restoration work, the church of Panagia Halkeon acquired its original appearance. Unfortunately, the internal painting of the walls is not very well preserved.

Church of Panagia Chalkeon

Arch of Galeria

An architectural monument of the Roman era, which is part of the burial complex of Emperor Maximilian Galerius, who ruled in the III-IV centuries. In the 5th century, the building was converted into a church; since the 14th century, a mosque has been located here. Only part of the stone wall with bas-reliefs and two arched passages has survived to this day. Arch of Galeria is one of the most significant architectural monuments of Thessaloniki.

Arch of Galeria

Rotunda Galeria

Construction of the early III century, presumably built in honor of the pagan god Zeus. According to another version, this is the memorial complex of Emperor Maximilian Galerius. In the 4th century the building was converted into a church, in the 16th century it was turned into a mosque of Sheikh S.Kh. Efendi. In the period 1912–1978. on the territory of the rotunda there was an exhibition of Byzantine and early Christian sculpture.

Rotunda Galeria

Greek Agora and Roman Forum

The ancient Roman forum was discovered in the 1960s. as a result of excavations of the central part of Thessaloniki. Even earlier, the Greek agora was located here - a wide square surrounded by temples, public buildings and craft workshops. From ancient buildings, the theater has been preserved, which, after restoration, began to be used for concerts, as in the days of ancient Greece and Rome.

Greek Agora and Roman Forum

Eptapyrgio Fortress

The northern part of the fortress was built in the 4th century under Emperor Theodosius I (according to an alternative version - in the 9th century), the southern part appeared much later - in the 12th century. Until the 19th century, the fort was used for military purposes, then a prison was placed on its territory. Since the late 1980s the building was transferred to the Ministry of Culture and Tourism. In 1995, the first phase of the archaeological excavations was completed.

Eptapyrgio Fortress

OTE TV tower

The TV tower was erected in 1966 and reconstructed in 2005. The building reaches a height of 76 meters. Inside, a panoramic restaurant is located on a rotating platform, which makes a full rotation around its axis in 40 minutes. The TV tower also has an observation deck from where you can admire Thessaloniki. The interior of the building is used for various official events.

OTE TV tower

Modiano Market

A large market, which began work in 1922 thanks to a merchant of Jewish origin E. Modiano. Trading shops are located near Aristotle's Square, almost in the very center of Thessaloniki. The market sells local products, souvenirs, flowers and other goods. There are also uzeri taverns where creative people gather. Not far from the bazaar is the complex of Turkish baths Yahudi Hamam.

Modiano Market

Waterland Waterpark

The water park is located 8 km from Thessaloniki. It was opened in 1994. At that time, its technical equipment was considered one of the best in southern Europe. Today "Waterland" looks a little dated, but this does not prevent tourists from visiting it. The water park has eight slides, several pools, bars, sports grounds, a play area for children and equipped picnic areas.

Waterland Waterpark