Les 25 meilleures attractions d'Ottawa, Canada

247
28 277

La capitale du Canada est considérée comme l'une des villes les plus intéressantes du pays, et en même temps de toute l'Amérique du Nord. Il y a 70 parcs sur son territoire, ainsi les rues, les quartiers et les places sont immergés dans la verdure en été, et en automne, ils s'habillent de superbes nuances de jaune et de pourpre. Il se trouve qu'Ottawa est située à la jonction des provinces anglaise et française. C'est pourquoi elle était destinée à devenir la capitale.

Ottawa est une ville étonnamment calme et soignée avec un rythme de vie mesuré. Il n'y a pas d'entreprises industrielles avec des cheminées fumantes ici, donc il bénéficie d'une bonne écologie. Fait intéressant, au 19e siècle, les résidents de Montréal et de Toronto considéraient Ottawa comme une ville ennuyeuse et indigne, mais au 20e siècle, la situation a radicalement changé. Grâce à un développement actif et à des investissements financiers, la ville est devenue un lieu de vie moderne et confortable.

Que voir et où aller à Ottawa?

Les endroits les plus intéressants et les plus beaux pour se promener. Photos et une courte description.

Édifice du Parlement du Canada

Un château néo-gothique du début du XXe siècle qui abrite le gouvernement du Canada. Il est construit en granit gris et rappelle un peu le palais de Westminster, mais sous une forme plus modeste. Le bâtiment central de l'édifice est la tour de la Paix avec un cadran d'horloge, qui était dédiée aux Canadiens morts pendant la Première Guerre mondiale. Le complexe architectural lui-même s'appelle "Colline parlementaire". Il comprend un château et un certain nombre de monuments en l'honneur de personnages célèbres.

Édifice du Parlement du Canada

Canal Rideau

Le canal a été creusé en 1832, ce qui en fait la plus ancienne voie navigable artificielle en Amérique du Nord. Il relie les villes de Kingston et d'Ottawa. La longueur du canal est de 202 km, il est conçu pour le passage de navires assez volumineux. Des bateaux de touristes sillonnent le Rideau pendant l'été. En hiver, il y a une immense patinoire d'une longueur d'environ 8 km.

Canal Rideau

Marché By

L'un des marchés les plus anciens et les plus importants au Canada. C'est tout un quartier commerçant situé dans le centre-ville. Le plan du marché a été élaboré par l'ingénieur militaire D. Bai en 1826. Au cours de ses près de 200 ans d'existence, Byward s'est considérablement développé. Le quartier était envahi d'hôtels, de restaurants, d'entreprises industrielles. Au 19e siècle, c'était déjà une importante zone commerciale et industrielle à Ottawa.

Marché By

notre Dame

La cathédrale gothique d'Ottawa, dans la bonne tradition française appelée "Notre Dame". Jusqu'en 1841, une église en bois se dressait à l'emplacement du temple. Il a été démoli pour faire place à une nouvelle construction. La partie principale de la cathédrale était prête en 1846, les flèches ont été installées 20 ans plus tard. Notre-Dame est la plus ancienne église d'Ottawa. En 1990, le bâtiment a été inscrit sur la liste des monuments nationaux du Canada.

Notre Dame

Musée canadien de la guerre

L'histoire du musée a commencé en 1880 avec une petite collection d'artefacts militaires

Musée canadien de la guerre

Mémorial national de guerre du Canada

Le monument a été érigé en 1939 sur la place de la Confédération. En 1925, les autorités annoncent un concours international du meilleur projet, auquel tous les sujets de l'Empire britannique peuvent participer. L'ouverture du mémorial a eu lieu en présence du monarque George VI. Au début, il était dédié aux Canadiens tombés pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, après 1982, il est devenu un mémorial pour les victimes de la Seconde Guerre mondiale et de la guerre de Corée.

Mémorial national de guerre du Canada

Musée des beaux-arts du Canada

L'un des principaux musées d'art au Canada avec une grande collection de peintures, de graphiques, de photographies et de sculptures. L'accent est mis sur le travail d'artistes canadiens. Des œuvres de maîtres américains et européens sont également présentées. La galerie a été fondée en 1880 par le gouverneur général du Canada, Duke D. D. Campbell. Depuis 1988, la collection est hébergée dans un bâtiment moderne conçu par l'architecte israélien M. Safdie.

Musée des beaux-arts du Canada

Musée canadien de la nature

Musée d'histoire naturelle, ouvert en 1990. Il abrite une exceptionnelle collection de minéraux, comptant plusieurs milliers de spécimens, ainsi qu'une impressionnante collection de pierres précieuses. Le musée expose d'anciens fossiles d'animaux et de plantes fossiles. L'herbier avec un grand nombre de plantes (plus de 500 000) mérite une attention particulière.

Musée canadien de la nature

Musée canadien de l'air et de l'espace

La collection est située sur le territoire de l'aérodrome d'entraînement près du prestigieux quartier d'Ottawa appelé Rockliff Park. Il a été organisé à la base de l'Aviation canadienne en 1964. Voici divers appareils allant des modèles rares aux modèles modernes. Le musée organise souvent des spectacles aériens passionnants, qui attirent de nombreux spectateurs.

Musée canadien de l

Musée canadien des civilisations

Un grand musée historique situé de l'autre côté de la rivière d'Ottawa dans la ville de Gatineau. La majeure partie de la collection est exposée dans trois sections : la salle des peuples autochtones, la grande salle et la salle du Canada. Ici, les visiteurs découvrent l'histoire du Canada de l'Antiquité à nos jours. Dans le musée, vous pourrez découvrir l'histoire de la population indigène du pays, la période de la colonisation européenne, ainsi que les événements importants du New Age.

Musée canadien des civilisations

Musée Bytown

La collection du musée se concentre sur l'histoire d'Ottawa et du canal Rideau. Le musée est apparu en 1917 grâce aux efforts de la Women's Historical Society, qui a collecté des artefacts. La plupart de l'exposition se compose de photographies, mais il y a aussi des expositions liées à la pose du canal. Depuis le milieu du XXe siècle, le musée est installé dans l'édifice de l'ancien Commissariat, l'un des premiers édifices en pierre d'Ottawa.

Musée Bytown

Centre national des arts

Le centre est situé dans un bâtiment construit en 1969 dans le style brutaliste (une des directions du modernisme). Ses quatre salles accueillent des concerts, des festivals, des représentations théâtrales, des opéras et des ballets. Le centre soutient activement les artistes émergents, en accordant une grande attention aux programmes éducatifs. En 2006, le bâtiment a été classé monument national.

Centre national des arts

Château Laurier

Hôtel de ville et en même temps un monument architectural intéressant. Le bâtiment ressemble à un château français, c'est pourquoi on l'appelait "Château Laurier". L'hôtel a été construit en 1912 à partir de calcaire de l'Indiana. L'intérieur n'est pas inférieur à l'extérieur, il est fait avec une élégance particulière. Les salles sont décorées de vitraux Tiffany et de stuc figuré, conservés depuis le début du siècle.

Château Laurier

Rideau Hall

La résidence du gouverneur général canadien et le siège du monarque anglais lors de sa visite au pays. En raison de son emplacement isolé, Rideau Hall ressemble plus à un manoir privé qu'à une résidence officielle. Le bâtiment a été construit dans le style victorien en 1838 à l'époque d'Edouard VII. Il était destiné à l'industriel T. McKay et sa famille. Le manoir n'a reçu son statut actuel qu'en 1867.

Rideau Hall

Monnaie royale canadienne

Monnaie et musée fonctionnels situés au centre-ville d'Ottawa. Les visiteurs peuvent voir ici non seulement une exposition de pièces de monnaie et de lingots, mais aussi observer le processus fascinant de la frappe. Le magasin local vend des objets de collection en métaux précieux. Désormais, seule la monnaie commémorative est fabriquée à la Monnaie, puisque la production principale a déménagé à Winnipeg en 1976.

Monnaie royale canadienne

Édifice de la Cour suprême du Canada

La Cour suprême siège dans un manoir construit dans un style Art déco avec un clin d'œil clair au style victorien. Il a été conçu par E. Cormier. De côté, la façade grise semble assez sombre, surtout sur le fond des pelouses vertes environnantes. Dépourvus de tout décor, les murs imposants sont couronnés d'un toit en pente. Le long des bords de l'escalier principal se trouvent des statues de Justice et de Vérité.

Édifice de la Cour suprême du Canada

"Centre Canadien Thayer"

Aréna sportif pour divers types de compétitions, construit à Ottawa en 1996. Le stade est le domicile des Sénateurs d'Ottawa de la LNH. En plus de l'aire de jeux, le complexe comprend un centre de fitness, le Hall of Fame et plusieurs restaurants. L'arène a accueilli des matchs de la Coupe Stanley et du Championnat du monde de hockey sur glace. En plus des événements sportifs, le Canadian Thayer Centre peut accueillir des concerts de musique.

Centre Canadien Thayer

Diefenbunker

Abris nucléaires qui ont été créés pendant la guerre froide dans les années 1960 à la demande du gouvernement du pays. Au total, une cinquantaine d'abris ont été construits. Le bunker principal de réserve est situé à 30 km d'Ottawa sur le territoire d'une base militaire. Cet abri de quatre étages a maintenant été transformé en musée, et les visiteurs peuvent voir des preuves vivantes de l'hystérie qui sévissait dans le pays à cause de la menace d'une frappe nucléaire.

Diefenbunker

Pont d'Alexandra

Un pont métallique sur la rivière des Outaouais construit en 1901. Au début c'était un chemin de fer, après la modernisation des années 1950, il s'est transformé en voiture et piéton. Le pont Alexandra relie Ottawa et Gatineau. C'est un exemple de l'architecture industrielle du début du XXe siècle. La structure repose sur des structures massives - des supports pouvant supporter un poids très important.

Pont d

Parc de la Gatineau

Le parc est situé sur un vaste territoire de 360 ​​km². Il y a des centaines de kilomètres de pistes cyclables et des dizaines de sentiers de randonnée. Parmi les divertissements, les touristes peuvent profiter de la pêche dans les lacs locaux, du canoë, de la natation, de l'équitation et d'autres activités actives. Le parc possède une grotte de marbre, des plages, une montagne, ainsi que le domaine Mackenzie King avec des jardins pittoresques et des chalets confortables.

Parc de la Gatineau

Parc Major's Hill

Le parc est situé au centre d'Ottawa sur une colline où le canal Rideau se jette dans la rivière des Outaouais. Dans la première moitié du XIXe siècle, les maisons des bâtisseurs de la voie navigable étaient implantées à l'emplacement d'espaces verts. En 1938, la zone était devenue un parc urbain bien entretenu. En raison de son emplacement idéal, Majors Hill devient souvent le site des festivals de la ville.

Parc Major

Domaine de l'arboretum

Centre de recherche et ferme expérimentale au coeur d'Ottawa. Il y a un jardin botanique avec 1 700 espèces de plantes, un jardin animalier Fletcher, un petit zoo avec des animaux domestiques, un musée agricole, un marché fermier et de nombreux autres objets intéressants. Dominion a vu le jour en 1889. Aujourd'hui, il occupe un vaste territoire de 26 hectares.

Domaine de l

Chutes de Hogs Back

Cascades artificielles sur la rivière Rideau, situées en bordure du canal du même nom. Auparavant, le site de Hogs Back était occupé par des rapides naturels avec une hauteur de chute de jet d'environ 2 mètres. Les cascades sont apparues à la suite de la construction d'un canal et de la construction d'un barrage. Malgré son origine artificielle, le ruisseau a l'air assez naturel et pittoresque. Surtout, il se remarque en automne, encadré par un feuillage jauni.

Chutes de Hogs Back

Chutes Rideau

Les cours d'eau sont situés à la jonction des rivières Rideau et des Outaouais. L'attraction naturelle est située près de l'hôtel de ville et du siège du Conseil national de recherches. En raison de la puissance relativement faible du ruisseau en hiver, les cascades gèlent complètement et les jets d'eau se transforment en figures de glace bizarres. La vue est fascinante, surtout si vous l'admirez depuis la terrasse d'observation.

Chutes Rideau

Hêtre

Le cimetière où sont enterrés les maires d'Ottawa, d'éminents politiciens canadiens, ainsi que des militaires et des policiers. La nécropole a été fondée en 1873 en banlieue sur un petit terrain. Au fur et à mesure que la colonie grandissait, l'inhumation s'est avérée avoir lieu dans les limites de la ville. Aujourd'hui, Bichvuch est le plus grand cimetière de la région. Il y a beaucoup de belles sculptures et pierres tombales ici, mais en général l'endroit a une apparence modeste et soignée.

Hêtre

Top 25 Ottawa Attractions, Canada

186
27932

The capital of Canada is considered one of the most interesting cities in the country, and at the same time in all of North America. There are 70 parks on its territory, so the streets, quarters and squares are immersed in greenery in summer, and in autumn they are dressed in stunning shades of yellow and crimson. It so happened that Ottawa is located at the junction of the English and French provinces. That is why it was destined to become the capital.

Ottawa is a surprisingly calm and well-groomed city with a measured rhythm of life. There are no industrial enterprises with smoking chimneys here, so it boasts good ecology. Interestingly, in the 19th century, residents of Montreal and Toronto considered Ottawa to be a boring and unworthy town, but in the 20th century the situation changed dramatically. Thanks to active development and financial investments, the city has become a modern and comfortable place to live.

What to see and where to go in Ottawa?

The most interesting and beautiful places for walking. Photos and a short description.

Parliament building of Canada

A neo-gothic castle from the early 20th century that houses the government of Canada. It is built of gray granite and is somewhat reminiscent of the Palace of Westminster, only in a more modest form. The central building of the building is the Peace Tower with a clock face, which was dedicated to the Canadians who died in the First World War. The architectural complex itself is called "Parliamentary Hill". It includes a castle and a number of monuments in honor of famous people.

Parliament building of Canada

Rideau Canal

The canal was dug in 1832, making it the oldest artificial waterway in North America. It connects the cities of Kingston and Ottawa. The length of the canal is 202 km, it is designed for the passage of rather bulky ships. Tourist boats ply the Rideau during the summer. In winter, there is a huge skating rink with a length of about 8 km.

Rideau Canal

Byward Market

One of the oldest and largest markets in Canada. It is a whole shopping area located in the city center. The market row plan was developed by military engineer D. Bai in 1826. Over the nearly 200 years of its existence, Byward has grown significantly. The quarter was overgrown with hotels, restaurants, industrial enterprises. By the 19th century, it was already an important commercial and industrial area in Ottawa.

Byward Market

Notre Dame

The Gothic Cathedral of Ottawa, in the good French tradition called "Notre Dame". Until 1841, a wooden church stood on the site of the temple. It was demolished to make way for new construction. The main part of the cathedral was ready by 1846, the spiers were installed 20 years later. Notre Dame is the oldest church in Ottawa. In 1990, the building was included in the list of national monuments of Canada.

Notre Dame

Canadian War Museum

The history of the museum began in 1880 with a small collection of military artifacts; it received official status only in 1942. Since 1967, the collection has been located in the premises of the former State Archives, since 2005 - in a new building, specially built for the 60th anniversary of the end of World War II. The exposition tells about the military history of Canada, as well as about the world wars of the XX century.

Canadian War Museum

National War Memorial of Canada

The monument was erected in 1939 in Confederation Square. In 1925, the authorities announced an international competition for the best project, in which all subjects of the British Empire could take part. The opening of the memorial took place in the presence of the monarch George VI. At first it was dedicated to the Canadians who fell during the First World War, after 1982 it became a memorial for the victims of the Second World War and the Korean War.

National War Memorial of Canada

National Gallery of Canada

One of the main art museums in Canada with a large collection of paintings, graphics, photography and sculpture. The main focus is on the work of Canadian artists. Works of masters from the USA and Europe are also presented. The gallery was founded in 1880 by Canadian Governor General Duke D. D. Campbell. Since 1988, the collection has been housed in a modern building designed by the Israeli architect M. Safdie.

National Gallery of Canada

Canadian Museum of Nature

Museum of Natural History, which opened in 1990. It houses an outstanding collection of minerals, numbering several thousand specimens, as well as an impressive collection of precious stones. The museum exhibits ancient fossils of fossil animals and plants. The herbarium with a huge number of plants (more than 500 thousand) deserves special attention.

Canadian Museum of Nature

Canadian Air and Space Museum

The collection is located on the territory of the training airfield near the prestigious area of ​​Ottawa called Rockliff Park. It was organized at the base of the Canadian Air Force in 1964. Here are various aircraft from rare to modern models. The museum often organizes exciting air shows, which attract a lot of spectators.

Canadian Air and Space Museum

Canadian Museum of Civilization

A large historical museum located across the river from Ottawa in the city of Gatineau. The main part of the collection is exhibited in three sections: the Hall of Indigenous Peoples, the Grand Hall and the Canada Hall. Here visitors discover the history of Canada from ancient times to the present day. In the museum you can learn about the history of the country's indigenous population, the period of European colonization, as well as important events of the New Age.

Canadian Museum of Civilization

Bytown Museum

The museum's collection focuses on the history of Ottawa and the Rideau Canal. The museum appeared in 1917 thanks to the efforts of the Women's Historical Society, which collected artifacts. Most of the exhibition consists of photographs, but there are also exhibits related to the laying of the canal. Since the middle of the 20th century, the museum has been located in the building of the former Commissariat, one of the first stone buildings in Ottawa.

Bytown Museum

National Center for the Arts

The center is located in a building built in 1969 in the brutalist style (one of the directions of modernism). Its four venues host concerts, festivals, theatrical performances, opera and ballet. The center actively supports emerging artists, paying a lot of attention to educational programs. In 2006, the building was listed as a national monument.

National Center for the Arts

Chateau Laurier

City hotel and at the same time an interesting architectural monument. The building resembles a French castle, which is why it was called "Chateau Laurier". The hotel was built in 1912 from Indiana limestone. The interior is not inferior to the exterior, it is made with a special elegance. The halls are decorated with Tiffany stained glass and figured stucco, which has been preserved since the beginning of the century.

Chateau Laurier

Rideau Hall

The residence of the Canadian Governor General and the seat of the English monarch during his visit to the country. Due to its secluded location, Rideau Hall is more like a private mansion than an official residence. The building was built in the Victorian style in 1838 in the era of Edward VII. It was intended for the industrialist T. McKay and his family. The mansion received its current status only in 1867.

Rideau Hall

Royal Canadian Mint

A functioning mint and museum located in downtown Ottawa. Visitors can see here not only an exhibition of coins and ingots, but also watch the fascinating process of minting. The local store sells collectible items made of precious metals. Now only commemorative money is made at the mint, since the main production moved to Winnipeg in 1976.

Royal Canadian Mint

Supreme Court of Canada building

The Supreme Court sits in a mansion built in an Art Deco style with a clear nod to the Victorian style. It was designed by E. Cormier. From the side, the gray facade looks quite gloomy, especially against the background of the surrounding green lawns. Deprived of any decor, the imposing walls are crowned with a sloping roof. Along the edges of the main staircase are statues of Justice and Truth.

Supreme Court of Canada building

"Canadien Thayer Center"

Sports arena for various types of competitions, built in Ottawa in 1996. The stadium is home to the Ottawa Senators of the NHL. In addition to the playground, the complex includes a fitness center, the Hall of Fame and several restaurants. The arena hosted matches of the Stanley Cup and the Ice Hockey World Championship. In addition to sporting events, the Canadian Thayer Center can host music concerts.

Canadien Thayer Center

Diefenbunker

Nuclear shelters that were created during the Cold War in the 1960s at the behest of the country's government. In total, about 50 shelters were built. The main reserve bunker is located 30 km from Ottawa on the territory of a military base. This four-story shelter has now been turned into a museum, and visitors can see living evidence of the hysteria that was going on in the country because of the threat of a nuclear strike.

Diefenbunker

Bridge of Alexandra

A metal bridge over the Ottawa River built in 1901. At first it was a railway, after the modernization of the 1950s, it turned into a car and pedestrian. The Alexandra Bridge connects Ottawa and Gatineau. It is an example of industrial architecture of the early 20th century. The structure stands on massive structures - brackets that can withstand a very large weight.

Bridge of Alexandra

Gatineau Park

The park is located on a vast territory of 360 km². There are hundreds of kilometers of cycling trails and dozens of hiking trails. From entertainment, tourists can enjoy fishing in local lakes, canoeing, swimming, horseback riding and other active activities. The park has a marble cave, beaches, a mountain, as well as the Mackenzie King estate with picturesque gardens and cozy chalets.

Gatineau Park

Majors Hill Park

The park is located in central Ottawa on a hill where the Rideau Canal flows into the Ottawa River. In the first half of the 19th century, the houses of the builders of the waterway were located on the site of green spaces. By 1938, the area had become a well-groomed city park. Due to its convenient location, Majors Hill often becomes the site of city festivals.

Majors Hill Park

Arboretum Dominion

Research center and experimental farm in the heart of Ottawa. There is a botanical garden with 1,700 species of plants, a Fletcher Wildlife Garden, a small zoo with pets, an agricultural museum, a farmers' market and many other interesting objects. Dominion came into being in 1889. Today it occupies a vast territory of 26 hectares.

Arboretum Dominion

Hogs Back Falls

Artificial waterfalls on the Rideau River, which are located on the border with the canal of the same name. Previously, the site of Hogs Back was occupied by natural river rapids with a jet fall height of about 2 meters. The waterfalls arose as a result of the construction of a canal and the construction of a dam. Despite its artificial origin, the stream looks quite natural and picturesque. Especially, it is noticeable in autumn, framed by yellowed foliage.

Hogs Back Falls

Rideau Falls

Water streams are located at the junction of the Rideau and Ottawa rivers. The natural attraction is located near the city hall and the headquarters of the National Research Council. Due to the relatively weak power of the stream in winter, the waterfalls freeze completely and the water jets turn into bizarre figures of ice. The sight is fascinating, especially if you admire it from the observation deck.

Rideau Falls

Beechwood

The cemetery where the mayors of Ottawa, prominent Canadian politicians, as well as the military and police are buried. The necropolis was founded in 1873 in the suburbs on a small plot of land. As the settlement grew, the burial turned out to be within the city limits. Today Bichvuch is the largest cemetery in the area. There are many beautiful sculptures and tombstones here, but in general the place has a modest and neat appearance.

Beechwood